Photo Coverage: York Theatre Honors Joseph Stein - Reception

The York Theatre Company presented the 16th Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre on Monday, November 12 to Broadway playwright Joseph Stein.  The Award culminates York's yearlong celebration of Stein with the Fall 2006 and Fall 2007 Musicals in Mufti Series - the York's acclaimed series of musical theatre gems in staged concert performances. 

The concert celebration of Stein's career was presented at Saint Peter's Church (54th Street).Directed by Stuart Ross the evening included appearances by Beth Fowler, Renee Goldsberry, Megan Lawrence, Gay Marshall, Brad Oscar, Lenny Wolpe and Karen Ziemba; plus an Act 2 performance of Enter Laughing, The Musical with Bruce Adler, Jill Eikenberry, Erick Devine, Josh Grisetti, Kaitlin Hopkins, George S. Irving, Trisha Rapier, Robb Sapp, Emily Shoolin, Kelly Sullivan and Michael Tucker.

The concert included appearances by many actors who have appeared in the Stein Mufti Series over this past year: Wendi Bergamini, Jacque Carnahan, Betsy DiLellio, Laura Marie Duncan, Michael J. Farina, Joy Franz, Amy Goldberger, Rick Hilsabeck, Lorinda Lisitza, Andrew Rasmussen, Adam Riegler, Ray Wills and Deone Zanotto (Zorba). Joe Stein collaborators John Kander, Stephen Schwartz, Charles Strouse, Sheldon Harnick and Jerry Bock were also part of the Awards Gala.

For details visit

Click Here for photos of the Awards Ceremony

Photos by Linda Lenzi

David McCoy and Karen Ziemba

Jacque Carnahan, Lenny Wolpe and Joy Franz

Lorinda Lisitza, Nancy Anderson and Amy Goldberger

Gay Marshall and Lenny Wolpe

Mike McGowan, Laura Marie Duncan and Brad Oscar

John Kander, Karen Ziemba and Bill Tatum

Margery Harnick, Sheldon Harnick, and Maureen Silliman

Brad Oscar, Joseph Stein, Elisa Stein, James Morgan and Adam Reigler

Josh Grisetti and Candice Ross

George S. Irving and Josh Grisetti

Kelly Sullivan and Josh Grisetti

Susan Pletcher, Joseph Stein, Richard Pletcher and Jeremy Littlejohn

Felicia Needlemen, James Morgan, Joseph Stein and Laurence Holzman

Maureen Silliman, Josh Ellis and Karen Ziemba

Joseph Stein, Josh Grisetti and Elisa Stein

Joseph Stein, Gay Marshall and Elisa Stein

Joseph Stein, Kames Morgan, Karla Vernick and David McCoy

Elisa Stein, Kelly Sullivan and Joseph Stein

John Kander, Elisa Stein and Joseph Stein

John Kander, Joseph Stein, Karen Ziemba, Bill Tatum and Elisa Stein

Karla Vernick, Shahna Sherwood and Jeb Knight

Joseph Stein and Karen Ziemba

Emily Shoolin, Joseph Stein and Lorinda Lisitza

Andrew Rasmussen, Emily Shoolin, Joseph Stein and Lorinda Lisitza

Related Articles

From This Author Linda Lenzi

Before you go...