Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Phillipa Soo Among 6th Annual Elly Awards Luncheon Honorees; Renee Elise Goldsberry to Present


The Women's Forum of New York will present The 6th Annual Elly Awards Luncheon benefiting The Education Fund of the Women's Forum on Monday, June 20th at The Plaza Hotel in New York City. The awards, named for the Women's Forum founder Elinor Guggenheimer, will honor outstanding women leaders.

The Elly Award Recipients (all in attendance) will be:

- Kay Koplovitz, Founder and former Chairman & CEO of USA Networks, author, and Co-Founder and Managing Director of the Springboard Fund.

- Rosie Rios, 43rd Treasurer of the United States and past Managing Director of Investments at MacFarlane Partners.

- Phillipa Soo, stars as Eliza Hamilton in Broadway's Hamilton, nominated for a 2016 Tony Award and winner of the Lucille Lortel Award for Lead Actress in a Musical, and co-founder of The Eliza Project.

The Elly Award Celebrity Presenters (all in attendance) will be:

- Christie Hefner, Chairman of Hatch Beauty and former Chairman and CEO of Playboy Enterprises.

- Cathy Baron Tamraz, Chairman and CEO of Business Wire.

- Renee Elise Goldsberry & Jasmine Cephas Jones, co-stars of Broadway's Hamilton.

- Paula Zahn, nine-time Emmy-winning anchor of "On The Case With Paula Zahn," will moderate a conversation on leadership with the honorees following the presentation of the awards.

"The Women's Forum is a leadership organization of New York's preeminent female leaders in every professional sector, from finance to fine arts. Appreciating that education is the key to success in every industry, we pride ourselves in helping high potential women over the age of 35 return to college after their education has been disrupted by life's adversities. Giving these women a second chance to realize their potential is our way of giving back and building new leaders."

- Carolyn Carter, President of the Women's Forum of New York.

"Twenty-nine years ago, the Education Fund embarked on a mission to help women, who had overcome serious hardships in their lives, to realize their dream of an education," Linda A. Willett, President, The Education Fund of the Women's Forum, said. "We started out slowly, but have been able to achieve real momentum in helping these women through the Elly Awards. Education Fund grants have made a significant impact on the lives of the women who receive them, on their families, and on their communities as grant recipients earn a degree and take their place in the work world."

The Elly Awards will begin at 11:30 a.m. at The Plaza Hotel with a reception and VIP arrivals. The Luncheon and Presentation will be from 12:00 to 2:00 p.m.

The 2016 Elly Awards:

Legendary Chair: Lucy Jarvis.

Honorary Chairs: Tina Brown and Emily Rafferty.

Chairs: Daisey Holmes, Barbara Marcus.

Committee: Beverly Beaudoin, Carolyn Carter, Jane Chesnutt, Emita B. Hill, Suzanne Jaffe, Liz Neumark, Ilene Wachs, Linda A. Willett.

Related Articles

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You