Click Here for More Articles on 2010 AWARDS SEASON

Photo Coverage: Outer Critics Circle announce 2009-2010 Theatre Nominations

Outer Critics Circle, the organization of writers covering New York theatre for out-of-town newspapers, national publications and other media beyond Broadway publicly announced the nominees for the 2009-10 season on Monday, April 26th at the historic Algonquin Hotel. Outer Critics Circle posted award nominations in 23 categories and are the first major Broadway/Off-Broadway award nominees of the New York theater season. BrpadwayWorld was there to capture real-life siblings, Broadway stars Hunter and Sutton Foster make the announcements.

Celebrating its 60th season of bestowing awards of excellence in the field of theater, the Outer Critics Circle is an association with members affiliated with more than ninety newspapers, magazines, radio and television stations, and theatre publications in America and abroad.

The winners of the following categories will be announced on Monday, May 17th and the annual awards ceremony will be held on Thursday, May 27th (4PM) at the legendary Sardi's Restaurant.

The nominees are:

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
American Idiot
Come Fly Away
Sondheim on Sondheim

Outstanding New Broadway Play
Next Fall
Superior Donuts
Time Stands Still

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson
The Scottsboro Boys
Tin Pan Alley Rag

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
Clybourne Park
The Orphans' Home Cycle
The Pride
The Temperamentals

Outstanding New Score of a Musical
Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson
The Scottsboro Boys

Outstanding Revival of a Play
Lend Me a Tenor
The Royal Family
A View from the Bridge

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
La Cage aux Folles
Finian's Rainbow
A Little Night Music
Promises, Promises

Outstanding Director of a Play
Doug Hughes - The Royal Family
Kenny Leon - Fences
Stanley Tucci - Lend Me a Tenor
Michael Wilson - The Orphans' Home Cycle

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Christopher Ashley - Memphis
Terry Johnson - La Cage aux Folles
Susan Stroman - The Scottsboro Boys
Alex Timbers - Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson

Outstanding Choreographer of a Musical
Rob Ashford - Promises, Promises
Bill T. Jones - Fela!
Susan Stroman - The Scottsboro Boys
Sergio Trujillo - Memphis

Outstanding Set Design
John Lee Beatty - The Royal Family
Beowulf Boritt - Sondheim on Sondheim
Phelim McDermott & Julian Crouch - The Addams Family
Donyale Werle - Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson

Outstanding Costume Design
Jane Greenwood - Present Laughter
Martin Pakledinaz - Lend Me a Tenor
Matthew Wright - La Cage aux Folles
Catherine Zuber - The Royal Family

Outstanding Lighting Design
Kevin Adams - American Idiot
Kevin Adams - The Scottsboro Boys
Ken Billington - Sondheim on Sondheim
Justin Townsend - Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Bill Heck - The Orphans' Home Cycle
Jude Law - Hamlet
Liev Schreiber - A View from the Bridge
Christopher Walken - A Behanding in Spokane
Denzel Washington - Fences

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Nina Arianda - Venus in Fur
Laura Benanti - In the Next Room, or the vibrator play
Viola Davis - Fences
Laura Linney - Time Stands Still
Jan Maxwell - The Royal Family

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Brandon Victor Dixon - The Scottsboro Boys
Sean Hayes - Promises, Promises
Douglas Hodge - La Cage aux Folles
Chad Kimball - Memphis
Nathan Lane - The Addams Family

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Kate Baldwin - Finian's Rainbow
Barbara Cook - Sondheim on Sondheim
Montego Glover- Memphis
Bebe Neuwirth - The Addams Family
Catherine Zeta-Jones - A Little Night Music

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
James Demarse - The Orphans' Home Cycle
Jon Michael Hill - Superior Donuts
David Pittu - Equivocation
Noah Robbins - Brighton Beach Memoirs
Reg Rogers - The Royal Family

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Hallie Foote - The Orphans' Home Cycle
RoseMary Harris - The Royal Family
Marin Ireland - A Lie of the Mind
Jan Maxwell - Lend Me a Tenor
Alicia Silverstone - Time Stands Still

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Kevin Chamberlin - The Addams Family
Christopher Fitzgerald - Finian's Rainbow
Levi Kreis - Million Dollar Quartet
Dick Latessa - Promises, Promises
Bobby Steggert - Ragtime

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Carolee Carmello - The Addams Family
Katie Finneran - Promises, Promises
Angela Lansbury - A Little Night Music
Cass Morgan - Memphis
Terri White - Finian's Rainbow

Outstanding Performance - Solo
Jim Brochu - Zero Hour
Carrie Fisher - Wishful Drinking
Judith Ivey - The Lady With All the Answers
Anna Deveare Smith - Let Me Down Easy

John Gassner Award for a New American Play
John Logan - Red
Jon Marans - The Temperamentals
Geoffrey Nauffts - Next Fall
Bruce Norris - Clybourne Park

Photo Credit: Monica Simoes

Related Articles

From This Author Monica Simoes

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram