Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on LYSISTRATA JONES

LYSISTRATA JONES Closes on Broadway Today

LYSISTRATA JONES gives its final performance today, January 8, 2012 at 3:00pm at the Walter Kerr Theatre (219 West 48th street). Upon closing, the musical will have played 34 previews and 30 performances. Written by Tony nominee Douglas Carter Beane (book) and Lewis Flinn (music/lyrics), LYSISTRATA JONES is directed and choreographed by Tony nominee Dan Knechtges.

LYSISTRATA JONES stars Patti Murin (Lysistrata Jones), Liz Mikel (Hetaira), Josh Segarra (Mick), Jason Tam (Xander), and Lindsay Nicole Chambers (Robin) with Alexander Aguilar (‘Uardo), Ato Blankson-Wood (Tyllus), Katie Boren (Lampito), Kat Nejat (Cleonice), LaQuet Sharnell (Myrrhine), Teddy Toye (Harold) and Alex Wyse (Cinesius), with understudies LaVon Fisher-Wilson, Libby Servais, Charlie Sutton, Barrett Wilbert Weed, and Jared Zirilli.

The Athens University basketball team hasn’t won a game in 30 years. But when spunky transfer student Lysistrata Jones (Patti Murrin) dares the squad’s fed-up girlfriends to stop ‘giving it up’ to their boyfriends until they win a game, their legendary losing streak could be coming to an end. In this boisterous new musical comedy, Lyssie J. and her girl-power posse give Aristophanes’ classic comedy a sexy, modern twist and take student activism to a whole new level.

Set design for LYSISTRATA JONES is by Allen Moyer (Tony nominee for Grey Gardens; The Little Dog Laughed; Twelve Angry Men; The Man Who Had All the Luck); costume design is by David C. Woolard (Tony nominee for The Rocky Horror Show and The Who's Tommy) and Thomas Charles LeGalley (The 39 Steps at Hartford Stage); lighting design is by Michael Gottlieb (The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged); The Last Session); sound design is by Tony Meola (Drama Desk winner for The Lion King; Wicked; The Wild Party; Les Miserables); and hair design is by Mark Adam Rampmeyer (West Side Story, The Farnsworth Invention). The music director is Brad Simmons with music coordinator Dean Sharenow and the associate choreographer is Jessica Hartman.

LYSISTRATA JONES is produced by Paula Herold, Alan Wasser, Joseph Smith, Michael McCabe, John Breglio, Takonkiet Viravan/Scenario Thailand, Hilary A. Williams, Broadway Across America and James G. Robinson in association with Tony Meola, Martin McCallum and Marianne Mills.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You