Click Here for More Articles on TALK CONCERTS WORLD

J. Oconer Navarro & More to Feature in Emerging Musical Theatre Writers Concert, February 13


On February 13, New York Theatre Barn will present NYTB in the D-Lounge, a monthly concert for emerging musical theatre writers, now in its 5th year, at the Daryl Roth Theatre.

The February 2012 installment of NYTB in the D-Lounge introduces to New York audiences Illinois-native, singer-songwriter Kevin Fogarty, who will present selections from his full-length musicals, and showcases Jonathan Larson Award-winner J. Oconer Navarro, who will present the world premiere of songs from two new musicals by himself and collaborators. Performers include Charlie Brady, Joaquina Kalukango, Zonya Love, and more. Executive Producers for NYTB in the D-Lounge are Laura Brandel and Jason Najjoum.

The first set of the evening, Out of Place is Where I Belong: The Music and Lyrics of Kevin Fogarty, will feature a compilation of songs from Fogarty’s full-length musicals, song cycles, and other songs, with performances by Audrey Filson, Kevin Fogarty, Maria Logan, James Lombardino, Brittany Simmons, and Rachel Fogarty on piano. Direct from Nashville, and born and raised in Illinois, Kevin Fogarty is a contemporary musical theatre composer and lyricist, a recognized country songwriter, and an experienced drummer. Presenting his work for the first time in New York City, he was a finalist for the 2011 John Wallowitch Award and a selected composer for the New Voices at CUA Music Festival. His song cycle The 5 Year Plan premiered in Nashville, TN in 2011.

The second set of the evening, How History is Made: The Songs of J. Oconer Navarro and Friends, will feature the world premiere of songs from two new musicals by Navarro and Joel B. New, Jennifer Stafford, and Zoe Samuel. The presentation will feature Adinah Alexander, Charlie Brady, Joaquina Kalukango, Zonya Love, Kenita R. Miller, Michelle Berry, Kimberly Chatterjee, Chris French, Jake Glassman, Angela Grovey, Tara Halpern, Dimitri Joseph Moïse, Lacretta Nicole, Desireé Rodriguez, and Anne Fraser Thomas. Also featured will be Navarro on the piano and Casual-T on the drums. Navarro is the recipient of the American Theatre Wing Jonathan Larson Grant, a Frederick Loewe Foundation Grant, the Margo Lion Award, the Paulette Goddard Award, and more. His works include Awakening, Detroit City Limits, Onward, Reception, and an adaptation of a recently published novel with Joel B. New and Jennifer Stafford.

The February 2012 installment of NYTB in the D-Lounge will take place on Monday, February 13, 2012 at 7:30pm at the D-Lounge, located at the Daryl Roth Theatre, 101 East 15th St. (just east of Union Square). There is a $10 cover plus a 2-drink minimum.

For more information and to learn more about New York Theatre Barn, visit:

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...