FringeNYC Announces 2016 Overall Excellence Award Winners

FringeNYC Announces 2016 Overall Excellence Award Winners

Winners of the 2016 FringeNYC Overall Excellence Awards were announced by festival Producing Artistic Director Elena K. Holy during a brief ceremony at drom in New York.

As selected by an independent panel of over 30 theater professionals, the winners are as follows:

Overall Play:
Pucker Up and Blow
The Radicalization of Rolfe
Black Magic

Overall Musical:
Mother Emanuel

Kristin Skye Hoffmann - Dream Ticket
Leslie Kincaid Burby - Zamboni
Jessi D. Hill - Brewed

The Gorges Motel
The Further Adventures of...

Solo Performance:
The Box Show
Honour: Confessions of a Mumbai Courtesan
At The Flash
Pryor Truth
Rent Control

Kevin R. Free - Night of the Living N-Word!!
Dahn Hiuni - Murmurs & Incantations
Meghan Gambling - Bonnie's Future Sisters
Louis Aquiler & Chris D'Amato - Dementia Americana

Taylor Turner - The Illusory Adventures of a Dreamer
Nadia Brown - Hysterical!
Meg Kelly - Kerrmoor
Dave Droxler - Walken on Sunshine

Tom Gold - Joey Variations

Scenic Design:
Jason Lee Courson - Cyrano: a love letter to a friendship

Aaron Michael Krueger - Super!

Music Composition:
Matthew Lowy - Fallen Skies
Ben Singer - At the Crossroads: Music for Faust

TheaterMania Audience Favorite:
Walken on Sunshine

FringeNYC is a production of The Present Company, under the leadership of Producing Artistic Director Elena K. Holy. In 1997, New York City became the seventh US city to host a fringe festival, joining Seattle, Chicago, Minneapolis/St. Paul, Houston, Orlando and San Francisco. FringeNYC has presented over 3000 performing groups representing every continent, prompting Switzerland's national daily, The New Zurich Zeitung, to declare FringeNYC as "the premiere meeting ground for alternative artists." FringeNYC has also been the launching pad for numerous Off-Broadway and Broadway transfers, long-running downtown hits, and regional Theater Productions including Urinetown, Matt & Ben, Never Swim Alone, Jammer, Debbie Does Dallas, Dog Sees God, Brandon Teena, Dixie's Tupperware Party, 21 Dog Years, The Twentieth Century Way, Tom Crean: Antarctic Explorer, The Irish Curse, Jurassic Parq, The Fartiste, and Silence! The Musical; movies including WTC View and Armless; and even a TV show ('da Kink in My Hair). FringeNYC alumni include Bradley Cooper, Melissa Rauch (Big Bang Theory), Morgan Spurlock (Supersize Me, CNN's Inside Man), Mindy Kaling, Tony Award winner Diane Paulus (Pippin), Leigh Silverman (Violet), W. Kamau Bell (Totally Biased), Michael Urie (Ugly Betty), David Anders (iZombie) and Kristen Schall (Last Man on Earth), among countless other success stories.

The 21sh Annual New York International Fringe Festival will be presented in August of 2017. Applications for the 2017 festival will be available online in November; completed applications are due February 14, 2017. For more information visit www.FringeNYC.org.

What Do You Think? Tell Us In The Comments!

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk