Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on JERSEY BOYS

Flashback: JERSEY BOYS Celebrates Seven Years on Broadway Today!

Jersey Boys, the Tony, Olivier and Grammy Award-winning Best Musical, celebrates its 7th Anniversary on Broadway today, Tuesday, November 6.

Jersey Boys opened on Broadway to critical acclaim on November 6, 2005 at the August Wilson Theatre where it has played over 2800 performances. The show is currently playing in New York; Las Vegas; London; Adelaide, Australia; in cities across the U.S. on two National Tours, and a production will open in Singapore on November20, 2012.

The Broadway cast of Jersey Boys is led by Matt Bogart (Nick Massi), Drew Gehling (Bob Gaudio), Jeremy Kushnier (Tommy DeVito) and Jarrod Spector (Frankie Valli) as The Four Seasons; with Peter Gregus and Mark Lotito. The cast also includes Miles Aubrey, Candi Boyd, Jared Bradshaw, Cara Cooper, Ken Dow, John Edwards, Russell Fischer, Kristofer McKneeley, Katie O’Toole, Joe Payne, Jessica Rush, Dominic Scaglione Jr., Nathan Scherich, Sara Schmidt and Taylor Sternberg.

Jersey Boys is written by Marshall Brickman & Rick Elice, with music by Bob Gaudio, lyrics by Bob Crewe, and is directed by two-time Tony Award-winner Des McAnuff and choreographed by Sergio Trujillo.

Jersey Boys is the story of Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons: Frankie Valli, Bob Gaudio, Tommy DeVito and Nick Massi, about a group of blue-collar boys from the wrong side of the tracks who became one of the biggest American pop music sensations of all time. They wrote their own songs, invented their own sounds and sold 175 million records worldwide - all before they were thirty. The show features all their hits including “Sherry,” “Big Girls Don’t Cry,” “Oh What A Night,” “Walk Like A Man,” “Can’t Take My Eyes Off You” and “Working My Way Back To You.”

Jersey Boys is the recipient of the 2006 Tony Award for Best Musical and the 2009 Olivier Award for Best Musical. The Original Broadway Cast Recording, produced by Bob Gaudio, received the 2006 Grammy Award for Best Musical Show Album and has been certified Platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). The Broadway production also won the 2006 Outer Critics Circle & Drama League Awards for Best Musical. The London production also won the 2009 UK People’s Choice and What’s on Stage Awards for Best New Musical. The Toronto production is the winner of three Dora Awards, including the Audience Choice Award for Outstanding Production. The Australian production is 2010 recipient of the Helpmann Award for Australia’s Best Musical and seven Victorian Green Room Awards.

Photo Credits: Joan Marcus/Linda Lenzi/Walter McBride

Jersey Boys Marquee

Jersey Boys Gypsy Robe Recipient, Sara Schmidt

Jersey Boys Gypsy Robe Recipient, Sara Schmidt, with Daniel Reichard, Christian Hoff, John Lloyd Young and J. Robert Spencer

Frankie Valli arrives for Jersey Boys' opening night

Tommy DeVito, Bob Gaudio and Frankie Valli arrive at opening night

Broadway's four original Jersey Boys: Daniel Reichard, Christian Hoff, John Lloyd Young and J. Robert Spencer

Jersey Boys celebrates Tony night, June 2006

John Lloyd Young with his 2006 Tony Award

Christian Hoff with his 2006 Tony award

Jersey Boys marquee, 2005

First national tour cast, 2006: Erich Bergen, Christopher Kale Jones, Deven May and Michael Ingersoll

The current cast of Jersey Boys: Matt Bogart, Jarrod Spector, Drew Gehling, Jeremy Kushnier

The original Broadway cast: J. Robert Spencer, John Lloyd Young, Daniel Reichard and Christian Hoff

John Lloyd Young's return to Jersey Boys this summer (with Matt Bogart, Quinn VanAntwerp and Andy Karl)

The current cast of Jersey Boys: Drew Gehling, Jarrod Spector, Jeremy Kushnier and Matt Bogart

Daniel Reichard, Christian Hoff, J. Robert Spencer and John Lloyd Young, 2005

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You