Click Here for More Articles on 2018 AWARDS SEASON

CURIOUS INCIDENT's Alex Sharp and NYC Ballet's Russell Janzen Win 2015 Clive Barnes Awards

CURIOUS INCIDENT's Alex Sharp and NYC Ballet's Russell Janzen Win 2015 Clive Barnes Awards

The Fifth Annual Clive Barnes Award winners were announced today. The theater award goes to Alex Sharp, breakout star of THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME and the dance award goes to Russell Janzen of New York City Ballet.

Alex Sharp plays "Christopher" in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time. Alex graduated from the Julliard School in May 2014 and this role marks his Broadway debut. Alex last played "Hally" in Master Harold...and the boys in his fourth year of training.

Russell Janzen was born in Bridgeport, Connecticut, and began his dance training at the age of six at The Rock School in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Mr. Janzen enrolled as a full-time student at the School of American Ballet, the official school of New York City Ballet, in the winter of 2005. In October 2007, Mr. Janzen became an apprentice with NYCB, and in June 2008, he joined the Company as a member of the corps de ballet. With the company he has performed a wide range of ballets, originated corps roles in works by Peter Martins, Justin Peck, and Benjamin Millepied, and danced featured roles in ballets including George Balanchine's The Nutcracker, Robert Schumann's Davidsbundlertanz, Glass Pieces, Concerto Barocco, Chaconne, and "Diamonds" from Jewels. He was promoted to soloist in October 2014.

Previous Clive Barnes Awards recipients include Chase Finlay (2010, now Principal with New York City Ballet), Nina Arianda (2010, Venus in Fur, Tony Award Winner), MJ Rodriguez (2011, RENT), Isabella Boylston (2011, now Principal with American Ballet Theatre), Rob McClure (2012, Chaplin, Tony Award Nominee), Lauren Lovette (2012, now Soloist with New York City Ballet), Jonny Orsini (2013, The Nance), and Lloyd Mayor (2013, Martha Graham Dance Company.)

Throughout his professional life, Clive Barnes was caring and generous to his colleagues and friends; always ready to advise and listen. After his death, many condolence letters spoke of his generosity and practical help, especially to young people. In this spirit, The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009 to create Annual Awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals and, thus, honoring the memory of the many years of critical work and the warm personal generosity of Clive Barnes.

The Foundation gives an Annual Award to two talented young professionals in the artistic fields of dance and theatre. The finalists are nominated by the Selection Committee, which is comprised of a panel of critics and performers in each field.

The Selection Committee for the Clive Barnes Award includes William H. Ausman, Siobhan Burns, Diana Byer, Frank DiLella, Barbara Hoffman, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, James Sutton, Valerie Taylor-Barnes, and Craig Wright.

The Clive Barnes Foundation Board of Directors includes Valerie Taylor-Barnes (President), William H. Ausman (Vice President), Brenda Anderson, Charles Askegard, Paloma Herrera, Jan Leeming, Arthur Mitchell, Michael Riedel, Spring Sirkin, Damian Woetzel, and Craig Wright.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram