CBS Reveals TONY Performances Including SPRING AWAKENING, ON YOUR FEET!

By: Jun. 08, 2016
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

Ten showstopping performances have been announced for THE 70TH ANNUAL TONY AWARDS, live from the Beacon Theatre, Sunday, June 12 (8:00-11:00 PM, live ET/ delayed PT), on the CBS Television Network.

The high-energy evening will feature performances from the 2016 Tony-nominated Best Musical and Best Revival of a Musical shows. Performers will include Tony nominees Brandon Victor Dixon and Adrienne Warren and the cast of SHUFFLE ALONG, OR THE MAKING OF THE MUSICAL SENSATION OF 1921 AND ALL THAT FOLLOWED; Tony nominees Laura Benanti, Zachary Levi and Jane Krakowski and the cast of SHE LOVES ME; Tony nominee Alex Brightman and the cast of SCHOOL OF ROCK; Tony nominee Danny Burstein and the cast of FIDDLER ON THE ROOF; Tony nominees Danielle Brooks and Cynthia Erivo and the cast of THE COLOR PURPLE; Tony nominees Lin-Manuel Miranda, Phillipa Soo, Leslie Odom Jr., Renee Elise Goldsberry, Christopher Jackson and Daveed Diggs and the cast of HAMILTON; Tony nominees Sara Bareilles, Christopher Fitzgerald and Jessie Mueller and the cast of WAITRESS; Tony nominee Carmen Cusack and the cast of BRIGHT STAR; and the cast of SPRING AWAKENING. The TONY AWARDS upholds a valued tradition of recognizing the excellence of the entire Broadway season each year. The telecast will also feature a not-to-be-missed performance by Gloria Estefan and the cast of ON YOUR FEET.

Tony Award winner James Corden, host of THE LATE LATE SHOW with James Corden, will host the awards show for the first time. Previously announced presenters include Uzo Aduba, Cate Blanchett, Claire Danes, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Jake Gyllenhaal, Neil Patrick Harris, Sean Hayes, James Earl Jones, Daniel Dae Kim, Carole King, Diane Lane, Nathan Lane, Angela Lansbury, Lucy Liu, Marlee Matlin, Audra McDonald, Patina Miller, Andrew Rannells, Saoirse Ronan, Blair Underwood, Oprah Winfrey and 2016 Tony? Award nominees Steve Martin and Edie Brickell. Legendary EGOT and show business icon Barbra Streisand will also present.

This year marks the 70th anniversary of the TONY Awards, which were first held on April 6, 1947, to honor theater professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway. The ceremony is presented by Tony AwaRD Productions, a joint venture of the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing, which founded the Tonys.

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment will return as executive producers. Weiss will also serve as director for the 17th consecutive year.

Image courtesy of CBS