Billy Porter, Jesse L. Martin & More Set for The Acting Company Gala's this Month

Jesse L. Martin, Billy Porter, David Rockefeller, Jr., and Stephen DeRosa will salute NYU Tisch School of the Arts' Dean Emerita Mary Schmidt Campbell and Municipal Arts Society's President Vin Cipolla at The Acting Company's Gala on November 17 at 360 Degrees Tribeca. Dr. Campbell will receive the John Houseman Award recognizing her profound commitment to the development of actors and arts education in America. Mr. Cipolla will be presented the Warburg Humanitarian Award for his outstanding philanthropic endeavor and support of the arts. Acting Company Alumna Angela Pierce (Forever, Mania Days) and Goldman Sachs Managing Director Tim Saunders are Gala Chairs, Acting Company/Tisch Alumnus Jesse L. Martin (Law & Order, The Flash) and Rockefeller Foundation Chair David Rockefeller, Jr. will present the awards; Acting Company alumnus Stephen DeRosa (On the Town, Boardwalk Empire) will host, Billy Porter (Kinky Boots) will perform. Three hundred guests complete an industry-filled audience of producers, directors, entertainers and other notables. Proceeds will support a repertory of theatrical productions and arts education for underserved audiences and students. Tickets from:212-258-3111.

A leader in training some of the finest young talent for the theater, film and television, Dr. Campbell will receive the John Houseman Award for her profound commitment to developing classically trained actors and building a diverse audience for the performing arts as Dean of the Tisch School. Her work for Tisch, the U. S. President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities, the NY State Council on the Arts, the NYC Department of Cultural Affairs, The Public Theater, Harlem School of the Arts, the Studio Museum and other extraordinary institutions has touched thousands of artists and everyday citizens. The Houseman award has been previously presented to Joe Papp, Marian Seldes, Julie Harris, Bernard Gersten, Dana Ivey, Jack O'Brien, Harold Prince, Tony Randall, Kevin Kline and a dozen others.

Vin Cipolla will be presented the Joan Warburg Humanitarian Award for his outstanding contributions to the Municipal Art Society, National Park Foundation, American Repertory Theater at Harvard, Ballet Hispanico, the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Boston's Institute of Contemporary Art, the Augustus Saint-Gaudens Memorial, the Lowline and the National Parks of New York Harbor Conservancy. In partnership with David Rockwell, he recently founded RGV focusing on design driven enterprises in media, entertainment and hospitality. Previous Warburg Award recipients include Harry Belafonte for his commitment to civil rights, Lincoln Center's Martin Segal; Hon. Tom Kean for health and education; Bill Zabel for human rights; Phyllis Newman for the Women's Health Initiative; Broadway Care's Tom Viola, Barbara Fleischman for her work in the arts and literacy and the Daphne Foundation's Abigail Disney.

Founded by Oscar winner John Houseman and current Acting Company Producer Margot Harley in 1972, The Acting Company is America's most honored touring repertory theater having reached almost four million people in 48 states and 10 foreign countries with 139 classic and new works. Kevin Kline, Patti LuPone, Rainn Wilson, Jeffrey Wright, Jesse L. Martin, Frances Conroy, Keith David, Hamish Linklater, Harriet Harris and David Ogden Stiers are but a few who began their careers on tour with The Acting Company, which is recipient of a TONY Award for Excellence in Theater. The Company will present Mark Twain's A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court in repertory with Macbeth March and April, 2015 at the Pearl Theater on 42nd Street as part of its 42nd National Tour.

Next on Stage

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

VIDEO: The Cast of HADESTOWN Performs a Tiny Desk Concert
Cast members from Hadestown united for a Tiny Desk Concert, hosted by NPR! The concert was filmed back in March, but has just been released.... (read more)

PETER PAN LIVE!, Starring Allison Williams, Christopher Walken, Kelli O'Hara, Taylor Louderman, and More, Will Be Broadcast Online
Peter Pan Live! will be broadcast online as part of The Shows Must Go On! The show will launch this Friday at 2pm EDT (7pm BST) and be available for 4... (read more)

Breaking News: Drama Desk Awards Postponed
Originally scheduled to be broadcast this evening, tonight's Drama Desk Awards have been postponed. ... (read more)

VIDEO: Lin-Manuel Miranda, Jeffrey Seller, and HAMILTON Speak Up in Support of #BlackLivesMatter
A video has been posted on the official Hamilton social media accounts, featuring Lin-Manuel Miranda speaking up in support of the #BlackLivesMatter m... (read more)

Broadway on Demand Postpones Tony Award Celebration Set For June 7
Broadway On Demand has made the decision to postpone its Tony Awards celebration event that was scheduled for this Sunday, June 7. The announcement wa... (read more)

Stars in the House continues tonight (8pm) for a Star Trek Voyager 25th Anniversary Cast reunion with Kate Mulgrew, Jeri Ryan, Roxann Dawson, Robert B... (read more)