BWW TV: Writers Thank Their Lucky Stars at Dramatists Guild Fund Gala; Watch Highlights of Ebersole, Cerveris, Gleason, Zien & More!

By: Nov. 02, 2014
Click Here to Play the Video!play

Dramatists Guild Fund Executive Director Rachel Routh and Board President Gretchen Cryer hosted their annual gala Great Writers Thank Their Lucky Stars, earlier this week on October 27 at The Edison Ballroom (240 West 47th Street). The Gala is the most critical fundraising event for the Dramatists Guild Fund, the public charity arm of the Dramatists Guild of America. The evening paid tribute to legendary writers and recognizes their significant contributions to American theater.

This year's event was hosted by Andrew Lippa (The Wild Party, I Am Harvey Milk) and featured legendary playwrights, lyricists and composers introducing the stars who brought their work to life on stage. The featured writers included Sheldon Harnick (Fiddler on the Roof, Fiorello), Lisa Kron (Fun Home, Well), James Lapine (Into the Woods, Act One),Terrence McNally (Master Class, It's Only A Play), Charles Strouse (Bye Bye Birdie, Annie), Jeanine Tesori (Caroline or Change, Violet), Stephen Trask (Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Cavedweller). The stars they 'thanked' included Kate Baldwin, Matthew Broderick, Christine Ebersole, Marva Hicks,Joanna Gleason, Ramona Keller, Linda Lavin, Sydney Lucas,Tracy Nicole Chapman, and Chip Zien as they performed songs and scenes from their iconic shows. The evening was directed by Noah Himmelstein with music direction by Charlie Rosen.

BroadwayWorld brings you highlights from the red carpet and inside the concert below!