BWW TV: Off-Broadway Unites for the 30th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards!

By: May. 11, 2015

The Off-Broadway League just announced winners in 18 categories for the 30th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway. BroadwayWorld a there for the big night, and below, you can check out interviews straight from the red carpet! Click here for the full list of winners.

As previously announced, playwright Terrence McNally was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award; writer and composer Jeanine Tesori was inducted onto the famed Playwrights' Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre; and veteran general manager Nancy Nagel Gibbs received the Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award.The twelve nominations for The Public Theater's Hamilton broke the record of eleven set just last year. Prior to that, the most nominations earned by one show had been eight. Hamilton and the most nominated play, Between Riverside and Crazy, also earned nominations for directing and acting, as well as multiple technical awards.

The Off-Broadway League's Lortel Awards Producing & Administration Committee (Terry Byrne, Dean Carpenter,Denise Cooper, Margaret Cotter, Carol Fishman, George Forbes, Michael Page, Catherine Russell, and Lindsey Sag) produces the Lortel Awards ceremony. Acclaimed writer/director Michael Heitzman returns to direct the Lortel Awards for the sixth consecutive year. The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by special arrangement with theLucille Lortel Foundation. Additional support is provided by Theatre Development Fund.

Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists and academics and other Off-Broadway professionals, serve on the Voting Committee.