Click Here for More Articles on HAIR

BWW TV: Creating HAIR's Audemars Piguet TONY Clock

Audemars Piguet was the presenting sponsor of the 63rd Annual Tony Awards Telecast Red Carpet on June 7th at Radio City Music Hall. Audemars Piguet, considered one of the world's finest watch manufacturers, displayed eight solid aluminum clocks along this year's red carpet.

The clocks were be decorated by the nominees for Best Play and Best Musical to represent each one of the productions. After the Tony Awards, the clocks will be displayed in the windows of the Audemars Piguet flagship boutique on 57th Street in Manhattan. The clocks will then be auctioned off for The Actor's Fund, a nationwide human services organization that helps all professionals in performing arts and entertainment. The Actor's Fund is a safety net, providing programs and services for those who are in need, crisis or transition. We gave a few of the productions Flip cameras so they could document the creation of their respective clocks.

Hair the 2009 Tony Award Winner 'Best Revival of a Musical' filmed the creation and signing of the clock by the cast, you can watch the segment right here on BWW TV!One of the most iconic of Broadway scores, Hair features more modern "hit" songs than any show in history: "Aquarius," "Let The Sun Shine In," "Easy To Be Hard," "Good Morning Starshine," and the title song became chart-topping hits, Grammy winners, Gold or Platinum records, or all of the above. The original Broadway cast recording of Hair remains one of greatest selling pop albums of all time and among the most beloved in music history.

The new Broadway production of Hair won the 2009 Tony Awards for Best Revival of a Musical. The Drama Desk, Drama League, and Outer Critics Circle recently honored the production with their 2009 award for Outstanding Revival of a Musical.Directed by Diane Paulus and choreographed by Karole Armitage, Hair features a book and lyrics by Gerome Ragni and James Rado, and music by Galt MacDermot.

The full cast of Hair includes Sasha Allen, Ato Blankson-Woo, Steel Burkhardt, Jackie Burns, Briana Carlson-Goodman, Allison Case, Gavin Creel, Lauren Elder, Allison Guinn, Chasten Harmon, Anthony Hollock, Jay Armstrong Johnson, Kaitlin Kiyan, Andrew Kober, Josh Lamon, Megan Lawrence, Caissie Levy, Nicole Lewis, Ryan Link, John Moauro, Darius Nichols, Brandon Pearson, Paris Remillard, Megan Reinking, Bryce Ryness, Michael James Scott, Saycon Sengbloh, Maya Sharpe, Kacie Sheik, Theo Stockman, Will Swenson and Tommar Wilson.

The Hair band, a veritable Who's Who of New York musicians, includes Nadia DiGiallonardo (Conductor/Keyboard), Lon Hoyt (Assistant Conductor/Keyboard), Steve Bargonetti (Guitar), Andrew Schwartz (Guitar), Wilbur Bascomb (Bass), Allen Won (Woodwinds), Elaine Burt (Trumpet), Ronald Buttacavoli (Trumpet), Christian Jaudes (Trumpet), Vincent MacDermot (Trombone), Joe Cardello (Percussion), and Bernard Purdie (Drums).

HAIR is presented on Broadway by The Public Theater (Oskar Eustis, Artistic Director; Andrew D. Hamingson, Executive Director) Jeffrey Richards, Jerry Frankel, Gary Goddard Entertainment, Kathleen K. Johnson, Nederlander Presentations, Inc., Fran Kirmser Productions/Jed Bernstein, Marc Frankel, Broadway Across America, Barbara Manocherian/WenCarLar Productions, JK Productions/Terry Schnuck, Andy Sandberg, Jam Theatricals, The Weinstein Company/Norton Herrick, Jujamcyn Theaters, and Joey Parnes by special arrangement with Elizabeth Ireland McCann.

Related Articles

From This Author BroadwayWorld TV