Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

BWW Exclusive: Tony Winner Lena Hall Will Perform at Point Foundation Gala

Point Foundation will present five-time Olympic medalist Greg Louganis with the Point Legend Award, which recognizes an individual who has achieved greatness in their professional career and unapologetically supported the LGBTQ community. The award will be presented to Louganis at the landmark New York Public Library April 11. The event begins at 6:30 p.m.

In addition to the previously announced performance from the cast of BRIGHT STAR, BroadwayWorld has just learned that Tony winner Lena Hall will perform at the special event.

"I am deeply honored to be receiving the Point Legend Award this year," said Louganis. "Point Foundation's service to help LGBTQ youth overcome all the obstacles, challenges, prejudices that I myself endured is so inspirational. To see these young men and women get the opportunity to obtain higher education degrees truly touches my heart and I am so proud of each of them. I look forward to cheering them on, both scholars and mentors on this very special night."

"Greg Louganis is rightfully an icon of perseverance and courage for so many people, as well as a person with a genuine magnanimous spirit," said Jorge Valencia, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of Point Foundation. "Greg has participated in a number of Point events, and our scholars and alumni are always inspired by what he has to say and the example he has set as an LGBTQ advocate and athlete. With the Summer Olympics fast approaching, it is a fitting time to honor Greg with the Point Foundation Ledged Award."

As previously announced, Pete Nowalk, Executive Producer and creator of ABC's "How to Get Away With Murder" will also be honored at the gala with the Point Leadership Award. Celebrity participants include Michelle Collins, Jack Falahee, Billy Gilman, and Conrad Ricamora. Additional celebrity attendees to be announced.

Some of Point's 85 current scholars and 217 alumni will be present at the event to share with the audience their inspiring stories about how they have overcome challenges to get their higher education degrees.

Information about attending or supporting Point Honors is at

Point Foundation, the nation's largest scholarship-granting organization for LGBTQ students of merit, has used the grand setting of the library in recent years to present awards to Lena Dunham, Neal Baer, Jonathan Groff, and Jeffrey Tambor.

Sponsors of Point Honors:

Presenting Sponsor: Well Fargo
Premier Sponsors: Hilton Worldwide, HSBC, Janssen Therapeutics, James Cummings and Justin Mohatt
Principal sponsors: Citi, Coach, Philippe Brugère-Trélat and Mitchell Draizin

National Media Sponsor: The Advocate and
Local Media Sponsor: Gay City News

Host Committee: Salman Azhar, MD; Philippe Brugère-Trélat and Mitchell Draizin; Claudia Caine and Linda Naylor; James Cummings and Justin Mohatt; Ron Falcon, MD; Brent Feigenbaum and Frank Morgan; Shelley and Robert Fischel; Herb Hamsher, Jonathan Stoller, Judith Light and Robert Desiderio; Peter D. Lease and Edward J. Wood; Bruce Lindstrom; Michael Mahoney; Clay Petre; Lisa Rosenblum; Ron Rudolph; David Steward and M. Pierre Friedrichs; Richard Ziegelasch and Patrick Campion

About Point Foundation: Point Foundation empowers promising LGBTQ students to achieve their full academic and leadership potential - despite the obstacles often put before them - to make a significant impact on society. Point Foundation promotes change through scholarship funding, mentorship, leadership development, and community service training. facebook/pointfoundation | twitter/pointfoundation | Instagram/pointfoundation| #PointHonors

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You