Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on BRING IT ON - THE MUSICAL

BRING IT ON: THE MUSICAL Performs on NBC's 'America's Got Talent' Tonight, 8/22


NBC's top-rated "America's Got Talent" finalized its remaining "Top 24" contestants on August 21 (8-10 pm ET) after 12 eliminated acts return to the stage and compete to rejoin the competition. The highly anticipated Wildcard show included 12 returning acts, selected by judges Howard Stern, Sharon Osbourne, and Howie Mandel.

Tonight's live results show on August 22 (9-10 pm ET) will feature a performance by Broadway's BRING IT ON: THE MUSICAL as well as a joint performance by platinum recording artist Owl City and breakout pop sensation Carly Rae Jepsen performing their new single, "Good Time."

From the Tony Award winning creators of "In The Heights," "Avenue Q" and "Next To Normal" comes the surprise hit of the summer that the New York Times calls "impossible to resist." "Bring It On: The Musical" pulses with a fresh sound, explosive dance routines, and an original story that'll have you cheering from beginning to end. After opening to rave reviews this month, "Bring It On" has extended its limited engagement on Broadway and will now play the St. James Theatre through January 2013.

Owl City achieved worldwide success with his platinum selling major label debut Ocean Eyes, which spawned the quadruple-platinum first single "Fireflies" – a No. 1 smash hit in 26 countries including the U.S. where it hit the top spot twice, and sold more than 12 million downloads worldwide. For his third album, The Midsummer Station, Owl City's Adam Young took a bold step forward by choosing to work with co-writers and outside producers for the first time. On the album's first single, the incredibly infectious summer hit "Good Time" he's joined in a duet with the incredibly talented Carly Rae Jepsen. Owl City will kick off a world headlining tour on September 5th in support of The Midsummer Station which will be released on August 21st on Republic Records.

Multi-platinum Canadian singer/songwriter Carly Rae Jepsen has taken America by storm after bursting onto the scene in the US with her hit single "Call Me Maybe." Unforgettably catchy, the hit song which she co-wrote, quickly rose to the No. 1 spot on the Billboard Hot 100 chart where it remained for nine consecutive weeks claiming the longest Hot 100 No. 1 run of 2012. Certified quintuple-platinum in Jepsen's native Canada the track is also an international sensation, climbing to No. 1 on the iTunes Singles charts in over 37 countries. Carly has now joined forces with Owl City on their new single "Good Time" which has already reached the Top 5 on iTunes. Carly Rae Jepsen will release her debut album Kiss on September 18th and hits the road this fall with Justin Bieber on the multi-platinum Pop/R&B sensation's 2012 headlining tour of North America.

As previously announced, Howard Stern has selected Ben Blaque, Horse, Spencer Horsman, and Todd Oliver and Irving. Sharon has invited back All That!, Bandbaz Brothers, Jake Wesley Rodgers and Lindsey Norton, and Howie has selected Andrew De Leon, Jarrett & Raja, Sebastian El Charro and Cristin Sandu. The four acts that advance on the show will enter the Semi Finals for a chance to win $1 million. Bios of all acts, including photos and more information can be found at

Of his first Wildcard show, AGT Judge Howard Stern noted, "How we going to end this season? Every time the audience gets rid of somebody we bring them back. It's like Godfather 3… just one too many."

"This year has had such a great amount of talent that with only 4 choices allowed per show, deserving acts got let go. I believe America will be happy to see my choices get a second chance," added Judge Howie Mandel.

"I love the Wildcard show because I want to show Howie and Howard that my picks are going to go through," said Sharon Osbourne.

"America's Got Talent" was created by Simon Cowell's SYCO Television and is co-produced by Syco TV and FremantleMedia North America. Simon Cowell and Georgie Hurford-Jones ("Britain's Got Talent") are executive producers for Syco TV and Cecile Frot-Coutaz ("American Idol"), Jason Raff, Ken Warwick ("American Idol") for FremantleMedia North America.

Related Articles

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

From This Author TV News Desk