Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Annie Baker's THE FLICK Wins 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Drama

It was just announced that the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Drama has been awarded to "The Flick," by Annie Baker, a thoughtful drama with well-crafted characters that focuses on three employees of a Massachusetts art-house movie theater, rendering lives rarely seen on the stage. For a distinguished play by an American author, preferably original in its source and dealing with American life, the recipient receives ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Also nominated as finalists in this category were "The (curious case of the) Watson Intelligence," by Madeleine George, a cleverly constructed play that uses several historical moments - from the 1800s to the 2010s - to meditate on the technological advancements that bring people together and tear them apart; and "Fun Home," book and lyrics by Lisa Kron, music by Jeanine Tesori, a poignant musical adaptation of a graphic memoir by cartoonist Alison Bechdel, exploring sexual identity amid complicated family constraints and relationships.

Recent winners include: Disgraced by Ayad Akhtar (2013), Water by the Spoonful by Quiara Alegría Hudes (2012), Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris (2011), Next to Normal, music byTom Kitt, book and lyrics byBrian Yorkey (2010), Ruined by Lynn Nottage (2009), August: Osage County by Tracy Letts (2008),

The Pulitzer Prizes, which are administered at Columbia University, were established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher, who left money to Columbia University upon his death in 1911. A portion of his bequest was used to found the School of Journalism in 1912 and establish the Pulitzer Prizes, which were first awarded in 1917.

The 19-member board is composed mainly of leading journalists or news executives from media outlets across the U.S., as well as five academics or persons in the arts. The dean of Columbia's journalism school and the administrator of the prizes are nonvoting members. The chair rotates annually to the most senior member or members. The board is self-perpetuating in the election of members. Voting members may serve three terms of three years for a total of nine years.

Featured at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You