EMOTICON ;) Soundtrack EP Available on iTunes

EMOTICON ;) Soundtrack EP Available on iTunes

The original motion picture soundtrack EP for the film EMOTICON ;) is now available on iTunes. Written, directed by, and starring Livia de Paolis, EMOTICON ;) is the story of Elena Gallenti (De Paolis), an anthropology graduate student struggling to complete her thesis on 'modern means of communication.' All that changes when she meets her new boyfriend's (Michael Cristofer) teenage kids (Miles Chandler and Diane Guerrero), who are going through their own journeys of self-discovery. Through these relationships and the help of her PHD advisor (Carol Kane), Elena comes to a better understanding of how to navigate love and intimacy in the digital age. Ultimately they develop a bond that strikes a balance between the old world and the new.

Having written and performed most of the songs on the EP, de Paolis proves she's the rare "quadruple threat." About crafting the EP, she says, "The first song I ever wrote was 'Only Love (The Shortest Distance).' I wrote it for the closing titles of the movie. I truly enjoyed the process and started a collaboration with Lee Curreri, which resulted in this small collection of songs."

She continues, "In my first attempt at singing/songwriting I have been mostly looking up at artists like Imogen Heap, Bjork, Lana Del Ray, Sia, Florence and the Machine but also Emily Haines and The Soft Skeleton and of course Belle and Sebastian. This album is very much born out of the same sense of longing and sensitivity of EMOTICON ;) as we combined understated vocals with organic and 'retro' elements (such as the autoharp, my favorite) -- and with electro elements -- to create an experience that is emotional in the context of these modern times."

Below, find the song listing:

Only Love (The Shortest Distance)

by Emir Merzeci, Susan Rumor, Livia De Paolis