GIANT Original Cast Album Coming in Spring 2013!

GIANT Original Cast Album Coming in Spring 2013!

The Public Theater (Artistic Director, Oskar Eustis; Executive Director, Patrick Willingham) announced today that the cast of the acclaimed epic musical Giant will enter the recording studio in January to create an original cast album, which will be released by Ghostlight Records in spring 2013. Giant officially opened at The Public on November 15 and features a book by Sybille Pearson, music and lyrics by Michael John LaChiusa, and direction by Michael Greif. The show will end its limited run at The Public Theater at Astor Place on Sunday, December 16 following a final two-week extension.

"We are delighted that we can capture this brilliant musical for posterity," said Artistic Director Oskar Eustis. "Michael John LaChiusa has written a heartbreakingly beautiful score, and this cast realizes it perfectly."

The cast album will be produced by Kurt Deutsch and Joel Moss and will include the popular songs Heartbreak Country, He Wanted A Girl, Topsy-Turvy, and Jump. Giant marks The Public's fourth album in collaboration with Ghostlight Records, including the previously released Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson, HAIR, and See What I Wanna See. This will also be Ghostlight Record's fifth album with Michael John LaChiusa (Queen of the Mist, See What I Wanna See, Bernarda Alba, and Little Fish).

The Public Theater has a long history of producing new musicals, and is the only theater in New York City that presents Shakespeare and the classics, musicals, new works, and experimental theater in equal measure. Giant, based on the classic novel by Pulitzer Prize-winning author Edna Ferber, is a new American musical that spans generations in an epic chronicle of the state that's like no place else on earth: Texas. Amid a turbulent culture of greed, bigotry and money, a powerful cattleman, his new East Coast bride, their family and friends - not to mention their enemies - embrace and confront the joys and sorrows that loom as large as the state they call home. With a book by Sybille Pearson (the Tony-nominated author of Baby), music and lyrics by Michael John LaChiusa (the five-time Tony-nominated composer of The Wild Party and Hello Again) and direction by Michael Greif (the three-time Tony-nominated director of Rent and The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide...), Giant is an appropriately huge production with a company of 26 actors and a 17-piece orchestra. Giant is a co-production with Dallas Theater Center and continues The Public's tradition of partnering with non-profit theaters around the country.

The Giant cast features Enrique Acevedo as Miguel; Raul Aranas as Polo; Becca Ayers as a swing; Mary Bacon as Adarene, Mrs. Lynnton; Kate Baldwin as Leslie; Miguel Cervantes as Angel; Xavier Cano as a swing; Natalie Cortez as Juana; Rocio Del Mar Valles as Analita; John Dossett as Bawley; Jon Fletcher as Bobby Jr., Bobby Sr.; PJ Griffith as Jett; Michael Halling as Lord Karfrey, Lynnton; Brian d'Arcy James as Bick; Mackenzie Mauzy as Lil Luz; Melissa Mitchell as a swing; Doreen Montalvo as Lupe; Michele Pawk as Luz; Allison Rogers as Heidi Mueller, Lady Karfrey; Isabel Santiago as Deluvina; Tally Sessions as a swing; Martin Sola as Dimodeo; Bobby Steggert as Jordy Jr.; Matthew Stocke as Mike; Katie Thompson as Vashti; and William Youmans as Pinkie.

GIANT features scenic design by Allen Moyer; costume design by Jeff Mahshie; lighting design by Kenneth Posner; sound design by Brian Ronan; hair and wig design by David BrIan Brown; orchestrations by Bruce Coughlin; musical direction by Chris Fenwick; and choreography by Alex Sanchez.

Sybille Pearson (Book) wrote the book for Baby on Broadway, for which she received a Tony nomination. Her Off-Broadway credits include True History and Real Adventures; Unfinished Stories; and Sally and Marsha. Pearson's additional plays include Watching the Dog, Be Bold, and Promise Me. She is a recipient of the Berrilla Kerr Award, the Darryl Roth Creative Spirit Award, Rockefeller Playwrights Fellowship, and was an Artistic Resident at the Vineyard Theatre in NYC. She is on the faculty of The Graduate Program for Musical Theatre Writing at New York University.

Michael John LaChiusa (Music and Lyrics). His works for The Public include See What I Wanna See (2006 Lortel Award Nomination, Outstanding Musical); The Petrified Prince; First Lady Suite; and The Wild Party. He was also The Public's artist-in-residence during the 1997-98 season. His Broadway credits include The Wild Party, which received a Tony nomination for Best Score and Book; Marie Christine; and Chronicle of a Death Foretold, for which he received a Tony nomination for Best Musical, and Best Book, with Graciela Daniele and Jim Lewis. His additional Off-Broadway credits include Queen of the Mist, Bernarda Alba, Little Fish, Hello Again, among others. He has also written the libretti to operas composted by Robert Moran and Anthony Davis and was the Resident Composer at the Lyric Opera of Chicago 1998-99.
Edna Ferber (Novel). Her novels include So Big (1924; Pulitzer Prize), Showboat (1926), Cimarron (1929), Come and Get It (1935), Saratoga Trunk (1941), Giant (1952) and Ice Palace (1958). She was a member of the famed Algonquin Round Table and her collaboration with George S. Kaufman includes the acclaimed plays The Royal Family (1927), Dinner At Eight (1932), and Stage Door (1936). Ferber died in 1968, and the New York Times said, "Her books were vivid and had a sound sociological basis. She was among the best-read novelists in the nation, and critics of the 1920s and '30s did not hesitate to call her the greatest American woman novelist of her day."

Michael Greif (Director). For The Public, he has recently directed The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide to Capitalism and Socialism with a Key to the Scriptures; The Winter's Tale; Romeo and Juliet; Diana Son's Satellites; the launch performance of Suzan-Lori Parks' 365 Days / 365 Plays; Fucking A; Dogeaters (Obie); Marisol; Pericles; Casanova; A Bright Room Called Day; and Machinal (Obie). For Signature Theatre Company, he directed Angels In America, John Guare's A Few Stout Individuals and Landscape of the Body. Greif's Broadway credits include Jonathan Larson's Rent (Obie Award, Tony nomination), Grey Gardens (Tony nomination) and Next to Normal (Tony nomination). He is an Artistic Associate at New York Theatre Workshop, where his credits include Cavedweller; Bright Lights, Big City; and Rent. His other Off-Broadway credits include Boy's Life (Second Stage), Neil LaBute's The Distance from Here and A Very Common Procedure (MCC), Neal Bell's Spatter Pattern (Playwrights Horizons), Beauty of the Father (MTC), Mr. Marmalade (Roundabout), Betty Rules (Zipper), and Bell's Monster (CSC). Greif has a longstanding association with the Williamstown Theatre Festival where his credits include The Cherry Orchard; The Three Sisters; The Seagull; Street Scene; Tonight At 8:30; and Once in a Lifetime. He was Artistic Director of La Jolla Playhouse from 1995-99 where he directed Our Town, Sweet Bird of Youth, Diana Son's Boy, Randy Newman's Faust (also Goodman), Kushner's Slavs (also Taper), and Thérèse Raquin.