Chicago Human Rhythm Project Announces 2013 Tap Scholars

Related: Chicago Human Rhythm Project, 2013 Tap Scholars


The Chicago Human Rhythm Project (CHRP) announces the winners of its 2013 Tap Scholar Awards, following auditions February 9 during CHRP's annual Winter Tap JAMboree at the American Rhythm Center in Chicago:

  • Time Brickey (age 18, Chicago, IL)
  • Francesca Carfagnini (age 14, Elmhurst, IL)
  • Anthony Clampit (age 13, Villa Park, IL)
  • Ljiljana Clampit (age 16, Villa Park, IL)
  • Amanda Erickson
  • Donyella Kittrell-Jackson (age 15, Chicago, IL)
  • Taylor Lattimore (age 15, Chicago, IL)
  • Madison Martin (age 16, Ann Arbor, MI)
  • Alexandra Stephens (age 17, St. Louis, MO)
  • Emerson Stephens (age 13, St. Louis, MO)
  • Allie Strehle (age 15, Minnetrista, MN)
  • Cory Wilfong (age 17, Glen Ellyn, IL)

These talented young dancers are receiving tuition support to make it possible for them to attend CHRP's annual Rhythm World, the preeminent festival of American tap, this year taking place July 22-August 4, with a faculty of more than 25 master teachers/performers from around the globe.

Founded in 1995 to honor the life of CHRP co-founder Kelly Michaels, the Rhythm World Tap Scholar Award program has provided more than $225,000 in financial aid to more than 200 talented, deserving young dancers from around Chicago and the United States as well as international exchange students.

In addition to the auditions during the Winter Tap JAMboree, CHRP also holds auditions in Tokyo, Rio De Janeiro, Zurich, Toronto and various American cities. The Award decisions are based on a range of criteria, including skill, talent and financial need, with the intention of creating a diverse mix of young dancers dedicated to furthering their tap and percussive dance education every summer at CHRP's Rhythm World.

Rhythm World is the oldest, largest and most comprehensive festival of American tap and contemporary percussive arts in the world, annually attracting hundreds of students from around the globe to study with an internationally acclaimed faculty of 25-30 master teachers and performers. During the last 19 years, many Tap Scholar Award winners have gone on to successful careers in teaching, choreographing and performing, including Jumaane Taylor, Ian Berg, Starinah Dixon, Nico Rubio, Sean Kaminski and Donetta Jackson, among others.

More On: Arts Council, The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

Comment & Share

BWW Reviews: BALLET HISPANICO at The Joyce Is a Celebration of DanceBWW Reviews: BALLET HISPANICO at The Joyce Is a Celebration of Dance

Subscribe for News & Specials

BWW Reviews: LeSaar The CompanyBWW Reviews: LeSaar The Company
by Barnett Serchuk