ASP to Present AS YOU LIKE IT, 4/17-5/18

ASP to Present AS YOU LIKE IT, 4/17-5/18

Perfect timing for a long-awaited Spring, Actors' Shakespeare Project (ASP) presents what is easily one of Shakespeare's most engaging comedies As You Like It April 17 - May 18, 2014 [Press Performance is Saturday April 19, 2014 at 8pm] at The Springstep Building, 98 George P Hassett Drive, Medford. Directed by Resident Acting Company member Robert Walsh **. Tickets are $28 - $50. Student Rush and Group discounts available. Tickets will be available beginning March 10 at actorsshakespeareproject.org or by calling OvationTix at 866-811-4111.

"We are thrilled to conclude our 10th Anniversary season with As You Like It, a delightful exploration of love, exile, and reunion," says Artistic Director Allyn Burrows. Burrows adds "In celebrating the human spirit with this production we're very pleased to find ourselves nestled into Medford Square in the shadow of the Fells, Boston's own Forest of Arden."

On one level it is a delightful confection. On a deeper level, it is a journey of discovery, in which the characters gain knowledge of themselves and the world. When Rosalind and Orlando fall in love, they are unable to act on their feelings. Forced to flee for their lives into the Forest of Arden, they find themselves entangled in a beguiling game of love, lust and mistaken identity. Together they, and a host of other itinerants roam about this utopian society, free from the enmity at home, seeking romantic fulfillment.

As You Like It features ASP Resident Acting Company members Rosalind (Brooke Hardman*), Orlando (Jesse Hinson*), Jaques (Jennie Israel*), Oliver (Johnnie McQuarley), Touchstone (Paula Plum*), Celia (Mara Sidmore*), and Corin (Richard Snee*), along with Silvius (Jared Michael Brown), Duke Frederick/Duke Senior (Joel Colodner*), Aubrey (Steven DeMarco), and Phebe (Katie Elinoff).

As You Like It design team includes Miranda Kau Giurleo (Costumes), Grace Laubacher (Scenic)***, David Reiffel (Sound), and Celena Sky April (Vocal Coach).

Performance schedule is Thursday April 17 at 7:30pm (preview), Friday April 18 at 7:30pm (preview), Saturday April 19 at 8pm (Opening night and Press Performance), Sunday April 20 at 2pm (with post-show discussion), Thursday April 24 at 7:30pm, Friday April 25 at 7:30pm, Saturday April 26 at 3pm and 8pm, Sunday April 27 at 2pm (with post-show discussion), Thursday May 1 at 7:30pm, Friday May 2 at 7:30pm, Saturday May 3 at 3pm and 8pm,Sunday May 4 at 2pm (with post-show discussion), Thursday May 8 at 7:30pm, Friday May 9 at 7:30pm, Saturday May 10 at 3pm and 8pm, Sunday May 11 at 2pm (with post-show discussion), Thursday May 15 at 7:30pm, Friday May 16 at 7:30pm, Saturday May 17 at 3pm and 8pm, Sunday May 18 at 2pm (with post-show discussion).

*A Member of the Actors' Equity Association, the union of professional actors and stage managers in the United States

**Member of the Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, Inc., an independent national labor union
***Member of United Scenic Artists Local 829

Boston Articles More...


Comment & Share


About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
 
🔀BOSTON SHOWS
The Light in the Piazza in BostonThe Light in the Piazza
(Runs 7/24 - 8/24)
Footloose in BostonFootloose
(Runs 9/5 - 9/13)
The Sound of Music in BostonThe Sound of Music
(Runs 9/12 - 9/20)
Far From Heaven in BostonFar From Heaven
(Runs 9/12 - 10/12)
Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat in BostonJoseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
(Runs 10/28 - 11/2)
Annie in BostonAnnie
(Runs 11/5 - 11/16)
Oklahoma! in BostonOklahoma!
(Runs 12/5 - 12/6)

More Shows | Add a Show

Message Board

BWW BLOGS