Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Contemporary American Theater Festival Announces 2017 Company

The Contemporary American Theater Festival (CATF) at Shepherd University announces their 130-member company for the 2017 season.

This accomplished group of playwrights, directors, designers, actors, technicians, and staff come together in Shepherdstown to produce CATF's expanded season of six plays in rotating repertory: The Niceties by Eleanor Burgess; Welcome to Fear City by Kara Lee Corthron (world premiere); Wild Horses by Allison Gregory (National New Play Network Rolling World Premiere); Byhalia, Mississippi by Evan Linder; Everything is Wonderful by Chelsea Marcantel (world premiere); and We Will Not Be Silent by David Meyers (world premiere).

The 2017 company kicked off the 27th Season with a picnic provided by CATF board members, and attended by community partners, who offered words of welcome and support including Shepherd University's Dr. Hendrix and Major Auxer. The following day, the company celebrated the first day of rehearsal by reading four of the six plays. The final two plays will be read next week. This first rehearsal gives the entire company the opportunity to experience the scripts together, before dividing into departments to rehearse, create, and build six productions.

CATF's 2017 Acting Company is comprised of: Jason Babinsky, Dyllon Burnside, Paul DeBoy, Lucky Gretzinger, Knightley Hill, Margaret Ivey, Susan Kellerman, Adrian Kiser, Lexi Lapp, Hollis McCarthy, Kevin Minor, Vincent Ramirez, Jessica Savage, Cherene Snow, Kate Udall, Yaegel T. Welch, and Bryce Michael Wood.

Casting for the 2017 season was conducted by Pat McCorkle, C.S.A.

Directing this season's plays will be CATF's Producing Director Ed Herendeen (Everything is Wonderful, We Will Not Be Silent), Marc Masterson (Byhalia, Mississippi) Courtney Sale (Wild Horses), Kimberley Senior (The Niceties), and Nicole A. Watson (Welcome to Fear City).

The designers for the season are David M. Barber, Jesse Dreikosen, Frank J. Oliva, and Sam Transleau (set); Trevor Bowen, Therese Bruck, Jesse Dreikosen, and Sam Transleau (costumes); John Ambrosone, Tony Galaska, Christian Specht, and D.M. Wood (lighting); and Justin Ellington, David Remedios and Miles Polaski (sound).

CATF will present its 27th season July 7 - 30. In addition to the six plays in rotating repertory, the Festival will feature stage readings, a lecture series, workshops and classes, art exhibitions, films, gallery talks, and audience/artist engagement activities. Complete information along with ticket options available via or by calling 800.999.CATF (2283).

Related Articles View More West Virginia Stories

Buy at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

More Hot Stories For You