Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Photo Flash: Meet the Cast of Cygnet Theatre's COMPANY!

Cygnet Theatre's ongoing love affair with the works of Stephen Sondheim (A Little Night Music, Sweeney Todd, Assassins) continues as their new season launches with Company, the Tony Award-winning musical exploration of marriage and commitment. Company is a musical comedy based on a book by George Furth with music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim. The original production premiered in 1970 and was nominated for a record-setting fourteen Tony Awards and won six. Company runs July 5th through August 18. Check out a first look at the cast below!

The plot revolves around Bobby (a single man unable to commit fully to a steady relationship, let alone marriage), the five married couples who are his best friends, and his three girlfriends. Company is a concept musical composed of short vignettes, presented in no particular chronological order, linked by a celebration for Bobby's 35th birthday. The show has enjoyed several revivals including a 2006 version that won the Tony for Best Revival of a Musical.

Directed by Sean Murray, Cygnet's Artistic Director with choreography by David Brannen, Companyfeatures an ensemble cast of fourteen actors and an additional 6 musicians. Musical direction will be provided by Patrick Marion. Cygnet traditionally likes to tackle large-scale musicals which play well in their 246-seat theater in the heart of Old Town.

Performances of Company are July 5 through August 18, 2013. Show times are Wednesdays and Thursdays at 7:30 pm, Fridays at 8pm, Saturdays at 3pm and 8pm, and Sundays at 2pm and 7pm.

For more information regarding tickets, please contact the box office at 619-337-1525 or visit or visit the box office at 4040 Twiggs Street. Discounts are available for students, active-duty military, seniors, CygNext Under 30 Club members and groups of 10 or more.

Photos by Manny Fernandes

The Cast of COMPANY

Andrew Oswald, Melissa Fernandes

Andy Collins, Athena Espinoza

Wendy Waddell, Kürt Norby

Linda Libby, David Kirk Grant

Eileen Bowman, Matthew Naegel

Mary Joe Duggan, AshLee Mayer, Andrew Wells Ryder, Katie Whalley

AshLee Mayer, Mary Joe Duggan, Andrew Wells Ryder, Katie Whalley

Related Articles View More San Diego Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You