Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Adam Chanler-Berat, Jane Kaczmarek, and More to Lead La Jolla's THE YEAR TO COME

Adam Chanler-Berat, Jane Kaczmarek, and More to Lead La Jolla's THE YEAR TO COME

La Jolla Playhouse announces the cast and creative team for its world-premiere production of The Year to Come, by Lindsey Ferrentino (Amy and the Orphans, Ugly Lies the Bone), directed by Encores! Off-Center Artistic Director and UC San Diego M.F.A. graduateAnne Kauffman (Playhouse's Hundred Days), running December 4 - 30 in the Mandell Weiss Theatre.

The cast features Adam Chanler-Berat (Broadway's Amélie, Peter and the Starcatcher) as "Jim," Marcia DeBonis (Off-Broadway's Small Mouth Sounds) as "Pam," Jenna Dioguardi (Off-Broadway's The Wolves) as "Abigail," seven-time Emmy Award nominee Jane Kaczmarek(TV's Malcolm in the Middle) as "Estelle," Pomme Koch (Broadway's The Band's Visit) as "Sinan," Jonathan Nichols (Grey's Anatomy) as "Frank," Ray Anthony Thomas (Playhouse's Glengarry Glen Ross) as "Joe" and Peter Van Wagner (Public Theatre's Othello) as "Pop Pop."

The creative team includes UC San Diego graduate Christopher Acebo (Playhouse's Zorro in Hell), Scenic Designer; Dede Ayite(Playhouse's The Last Tiger in Haiti), Costume Designer; Lap Chi Chu (Playhouse's Queens, At the Old Place), Lighting Designer; Brandon Wolcott, Sound Designer; Gabriel Greene, Dramaturg; and Cyd Cahill, Stage Manager.

"Lindsey Ferrentino's latest work paints a funny and deeply moving portrait of contemporary America through the lens of one diverse family," said Playhouse Artistic Director Christopher Ashley. "It's a distinct pleasure to have this phenomenal cast join our Playhouse family and to welcome back UC San Diego alumna Anne Kauffman, fresh off her exhilarating production of Hundred Days."

Every New Year's Eve, a family gathers in their Florida backyard to ring in the coming year. In between dips in the pool, politically-incorrect banter and a highly-anticipated onion dip, their relationships grow and fracture in moments that become family legend. Unfolding backwards in time, The Year to Come shows how the promise of our future is shaped by the lens of our past. Playwright Lindsey Ferrentino introduces us to a distinctly American family whose evolution mirrors the turbulence of the 21st century.

Lindsey Ferrentino is a New York-based playwright originally from Florida, where many of her plays are set. Her critically-acclaimed Ugly Lies the Bone was a New York Times Critic's Pick and played a sold-out, extended run at Roundabout Theatre Company before being produced at The National Theatre in London. In the 2017/2018 season, her play Amy and the Orphans premiered at Roundabout and was called "barrier breaking" by The New York Times. Other plays include This Flat Earth, Kokomo, Magic Man, Moonlight on the Bayou and Paradise Bar and Grill. Ferrentino is the recipient of the 2016 Kesselring Prize, Laurents/Hatcher Citation of Excellence, ASCAP Cole Porter Playwriting Prize,Paul Newman Drama Award, 2015 Kilroys List, finalist for the Susan Smith Blackburn, nominee for the Outer Critics Circle John Gassner Award, and the only two-time finalist for the Kendeda Playwriting Prize. She is currently under commission from Roundabout, Geffen and South Coast Rep. She holds a B.F.A. from New York University's Tisch School of the Arts, and has two M.F.A.s in playwriting from Hunter College and The Yale School of Drama.

Anne Kauffman has worked with Ars Nova, New York Theatre Workshop, Playwrights Horizons, The Public, MCC, Roundabout, WP, P73, Clubbed Thumb, New Georges, Yale Rep, Williamstown Theater Festival, The Goodman, Steppenwolf, The Wilma and ZSpace. She is Artistic Director of Encores! Off-Center, Resident Director at Roundabout Theater, Artistic Associate and Founding Member of The Civilians, a Sundance Program Associate, Clubbed Thumb Associate Artist and co-creator of the CT Directing Fellowship, New Georges Associate Artist, Artistic Council of Soho Rep and an SDC Executive Board Member. Awards: Lortel, Three OBIEs, Two Barrymore Awards, the Joan and Joseph Cullman Award for Exceptional Creativity from Lincoln Center, the Alan Schneider Director Award and a Lilly Award. She holds an M.F.A. in Directing from UC San Diego.

La Jolla Playhouse is a place where artists and audiences come together to create what's new and next in the American theatre, from Tony Award-winning productions, to imaginative programs for young audiences, to interactive experiences outside our theatre walls. Currently led by 2017 Tony Award-winning Artistic Director Christopher Ashley and Managing Director Debby Buchholz, the Playhouse was founded in 1947 by Gregory Peck, Dorothy McGuire and Mel Ferrer. Renowned for its development of new plays and musicals, the Playhouse has mounted 98 world premieres, commissioned 52 new works, and sent 32 productions to Broadway - among them the currently-running hit musicals Come From Away and SUMMER: The Donna Summer Musical - garnering a total of 38 Tony Awards, as well as the 1993 Tony Award for Outstanding Regional Theatre.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride / WM Photos

Related Articles View More San Diego Stories

More Hot Stories For You