Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Lakewood Theatre Company Announces OTAS Award Winners

On Tuesday, June 30, 2015, Lakewood Theatre Company/Lakewood Center for the Arts held its annual meeting and OTAS (Oregon Theatrical Awards Society) presentation at the Lakewood Center to celebrate the closing of its 62nd season of plays and its 44th annual OTAS Awards. Emcee for the evening was Alan Shearman, a frequent Lakewood stage director and past OTAS award winner and upcoming director of Lakewood's 2015/16 season production of Bullshot Crummond: The Evil Eye of Jabar and the Invisible Bride of Death.

Artists recognized during the evening included:

Best Actress - Musical
Jennifer Goldsmith as Mame Dennis in Mame

Best Actor - Musical
Evan Howells as Frederick Frankenstein in Young Frankenstein

Best Supporting Actress - Musical
Lisa Knox as Frau Blucher in Young Frankenstein

Best Supporting Actor - Musical
Burl Ross as Igor in Young Frankenstein

Best Actress - Play
Louise Chambers as Cordelia in The Seven Wonders of Ballyknock

Best Actor - Play
Leif Norby as Richard Hannay in The 39 Steps

Best Supporting Actress - Play
Marilyn Stacey as Mag in The Seven Wonders of Ballyknock

Best Supporting Actor - Play
Don Stewart Burns as Old Bailey in The Seven Wonders of Ballyknock

Best Musical Direction
Darcy White for Mame

Best Costume Design
Jamie Parker for Mame

Best Set Design
Alan Schwanke for Young Frankenstein

Best Light Design
Kurt Herman for Young Frankenstein and Kurt Herman for Mame

Best Choreographer
Laura Hiszczynskyj for Mame

Best Director Musical
John Oules for Mame

Best Director Play
Don Alder for The 39 Steps

Best Musical

Best Play
The Seven Wonders of Ballyknock

The Betty Kingsbury Heritage Award for exemplary service to the theatre went to the Lakewood Center Associates.

In the business/annual meeting on June 30, 2015, President Don Irving recognized and thanked retiring board members Bridget Smith and Fred Baldwin for their many years of service to Lakewood. In official business, the non-profit organization elected Don Irving as President andDon Plumb as Treasurer for one-year terms. Members elected to serve three-year board terms were John Bradshaw, Mike Dotten, Don Irving, Don Plumb, and Martha Schrader. For a one-year term, Tina Cauthorn was elected.

The OTAS Awards are given each year to honor those involved in productions at Lakewood Theatre Company. They originated in 1971.

Related Articles View More Portland Stories

NOS Dance

More Hot Stories For You