Pittsburgh Opera Announces its 80th Season

Pittsburgh Opera Announces its 80th Season

Pittsburgh Opera announces its 2018-19 season, its 79th. The season continues Pittsburgh Opera's tradition of performing world-class productions of old favorites and exciting new works. The 80th season will feature four operas produced at the Benedum Center and two Resident Artist operas- the annual production at Pittsburgh CAPA Theater and Second Stage Project at Pittsburgh Opera Headquarters.

Season Overview:

Benedum Center Productions:

Giacomo Puccini's Madama Butterfly

  • Sat., Oct. 6, 2018 * 8:00 PM
  • Tues., Oct. 9, 2018 * 7:00 PM
  • Fri., Oct. 12, 2018 * 7:30 PM
  • Sun., Oct. 14, 2018 * 2:00 PM

Engelbert Humperdinck's Hansel & Gretel

  • Sat., Nov. 3, 2018 * 8:00 PM
  • Tues., Nov. 6, 2018 * 7:00 PM
  • Student Matinee: Thurs., Nov. 8, 2018 * 10:30AM
  • Fri., Nov. 9, 2018 * 7:30 PM
  • Sun., Nov. 11, 2018 * 2:00 PM

Giacomo Puccini's La bohème

  • Sat., March 30, 2019 * 8:00 PM
  • Tues., April 2, 2019 * 7:00 PM
  • Fri., April 5, 2019 * 7:30 PM
  • Sun., April 7, 2019 * 2:00 PM

Gaetano Donizetti's Don Pasquale

  • Sat., April 27, 2019 * 8:00 PM
  • Tues,, April 30, 2019 * 7:00 PM
  • Fri., May 3, 2019 * 7:30 PM
  • Sun., May 5, 2019 * 3:00 PM

CAPA Theater Production: afterWARds - "Mozart's Idomeneo Reimagined", directed by David Paul, a world premiere production

  • Sat., Jan. 26, 2019 * 8:00 PM
  • Tues., Jan. 29, 2019 * 7:00 PM
  • Fri., Feb. 1, 2019 * 7:30 PM
  • Sun., Feb. 3, 2019 * 2:00 PM

Second Stage Project: Tom Cipullo's Glory Denied

  • Sat., Feb. 23, 2019 * 8:00 PM
  • Tue., Feb. 26, 2019 * 7:00 PM
  • Fri., March 1, 2019 * 7:30 PM
  • Sun., March 3, 2019 * 2:00 PM

Special Events:

  • 64th Annual Diamond Horseshoe Ball - Saturday, September 22, 2018
  • Maecenas Ball XXXV - Saturday, May 11, 2019

Free, Low Cost and Other Events:

Tickets:

  • Season tickets (subscriptions) are now available. Subscriptions for the four Benedum productions range from $45 - $644.
  • Single ticket sales begin in late August.
  • Single tickets for the Benedum Center productions start at just $14; Children ages 18-and-under start at just $7.
  • Group discounts, including student discounts, are available.

About Pittsburgh Opera: Pittsburgh Opera celebrates its 80th season in 2018-19. Established by five intrepid women in 1939, Pittsburgh Opera is viewed as one of the most vibrant opera organizations in the U.S., with a rich artistic tradition, outstanding educational programs, an acclaimed artist training program, and a progressive outlook toward the future. Its green initiative culminated in LEED Silver certification for its Strip District headquarters, and its capacity as a true community partner has increased significantly under General Director Christopher Hahn's leadership.

Related Articles

View More Pittsburgh
Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram