TUNE IN TIME Returns to York Theatre Company in May

The York Theatre Company welcomes the May installment of the game show for musical theater lovers, Tune in Time, presented by Amy Engelhardt and Heather Shields, hosted by Emily McNamara, with Musical Director Nate Buccieri and annoyingly insistent timekeeper Sheila Head, celebrates warmer weather and skimpier clothing with celebrity judges Nick Cearley and Lauren Molina (from the popular performance group The Skivvies) and Tony Award winnerDaisy Eagan (The Secret Garden), on Monday evening, May 9, 2016 beginning at 7:30 p.m. at The York Theatre Company at Saint Peter's(Citicorp Building, entrance on East 54th Street, just east of Lexington Avenue).

The May line-up of songwriters includes composers Clare Cooper (How to Marry a Divorced Man), Jimmy Fisher (Lasagna Mañana), and Teresa Lotz (She Calls Me Firefly), who will be teamed up with lyricists Marc Acito (Allegiance), Sam Carner (Unlock'd, 2016 MAC Award winner for "The Egg Nog Song"), and Adam Overett (My Life Is a Musical).

In this "Musical Theater Olympics," three teams of composers and lyricists who have never worked together are forced to collaborate - and to beat the clock. Their task? They must write a song for a new Broadway musical, the title of which is picked from a hatful of audience suggestions - and in a style determined by a spin of the dreaded Genre Wheel - all within 20 minutes! Tune in Time is an evening of edge-of-your-seat suspense, brain-frying bravery, and musical theatre magnificence. Each edition of Tune in Time features a different roster of musical theater composers and lyricists as well as a panel of celebrity judges.

General Admission tickets for Tune in Time are priced at $20 and can be purchased online at www.yorktheatre.com, or by visiting the York Theatre Company Box Office (Citicorp Building, entrance on East 54th Street, just east of Lexington Avenue), or by calling the Box Office at (212) 935-5820during regular business hours (Monday through Friday, 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.).

Previous winners have included Benjamin Halstead and Garth Kravits with the disturbing, experimental Alpaca Farm-RUN!; Meghan Kelleher and Adam Spiegel for the jazz-inflected title song from Ethiopia Rocks!; Christiana Cole and Joe Kinosian for their experimental assault on the inside of the piano, the outside of the proscenium, and the concept of luncheon meat from The Sweating Smörgåsbord; Jordan Mann and Landon Braverman for their love anthem, "Retweeter" from the disco-era musical, The Capricious Hashtag (anachronism be damned); Bill Nelson and Brad Simmons for their original song "Kiss Her" from the fictional The Slighted Hickey, à la Jason Robert Brown; and Lisa DeSpain and Sarah Ziegler for their selection from thenonexistent new multi-culturally themed musical, The Chatty Apple. Earlier champions include David Gomez and Zach Redler, Kellen Blair and Dave Christensen, David Sisco and Kate Anderson, Dan McKenzie and Ben Wexler, Erik Jareth Ransom and Clay Zambo, and Avi Amon and Robbie Torres.

"A triumph! A rollicking celebration of words and music that skips briskly along the path that wends from the hilarious to the sublime." - Big Yellow Taxi

"Head down to Tune in Time. It's a joyous, hilarious romp that has the added benefit of being an exceptional night of creative genius!" - Stage Buddy

For additional information, please visit www.yorktheatre.org.

Related Articles View More Off-Broadway Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram