Firehouse Announces Cast And Creative Team Of OEDIPUS, A GOSPEL MYTH

Firehouse Announces Cast And Creative Team Of OEDIPUS, A GOSPEL MYTH

Firehouse Theatre announces the cast and creative team for it's upcoming production of OEDIPUS, A GOSPEL MYTH that begins performances on Friday, February 1, 2019 at 7:30pm.

Sophocles' masterwork from 429 B.C. is considered by many to be one of the greatest plays ever written. Ambition, pride, fate, and free will are the ingredients of this tragedy of epic proportions.

Firehouse's production is set in a southern church in the 1920's during a Sunday service as the preacher, choir, and members of the congregation perform this ancient myth to try to reconcile the contradictions between a world blessed by God's grace and our experience of incomprehensible human suffering.

"Keep your eyes on that last day, on your dying.
Happiness and peace they were not yours
Unless at death you can look back on your life and say
I lived, I did not suffer."

Performers:
Patricia Alli - Jocasta
Akiel Baldwin - Servant
Toney Q. Cobb - Tieresias/Messenger
R.O. Crews - Kreon
Shantell Dunnaville - Chorus
J. Ron Fleming - Shepherd
Shalimar Hickman Fields - Chorus
dl Hopkins - Oedipus
Jeremy V. Morris - Priest/Leader
Shalandis Wheeler Smith - Chorus

Production Team:
Vinnie Gonzalez - Director + Set Designer
Niomi Kaiser - Costume Designer
Steve Koehler - Lighting Designer
Billy Dye - Music Consultant
Amanda Durst - Vocal Coach
Ryan Dygert - Sound Designer
Cailin Lindsay - Stage Manager

Performance Schedule:
Fri, Feb 1 @ 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 2 @ 7:30pm (press opening)
Fri, Feb 8 @ 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 9 @ 7:30pm
Sun, Feb 10 @ 4pm (post perf talkback)
Fri, Feb 15 @ 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 16 @ 7:30pm
Sun, Feb 17 @ 4pm (post perf talkback)
Fri, Feb 22 @ 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 23 @ 7:30pm

Tickets: $35 general admission/$25 military/$15 students
firehousetheatre.org
804.355.2001

Related Articles View More Central Virginia Stories   Shows






More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram
   



  SHARE