Carbonell Award Nominations Announced: MISS SAIGON, BLASTED Among Leaders

By: Feb. 15, 2011

The Carbonell Awards recognize Florida's best stage productions and those behind them. This year, the awards' 35th, the Actors' Playhouse production of MISS SAIGON leads the pack with 11 nominations, followed by 7 nominations for the controversial play BLASTED, the Miami Herald reports.

Choreographer Chrissi Ardito is nominated for OLIVER!, also from the Actor's Playhouse, and Broward Stage Door Theatre's MACK AND MABEL as well as THE DROWSY CHAPERONE.

The full list of nominees are as follows:


Best New Work: Christopher Demos-Brown, "When the Sun Shone Brighter," Florida Stage; Sue Fabisch, "Motherhood the Musical," GFOUR Productions; Karen Hartman, "Goldie, Max & Milk," Florida Stage; Michael McKeever, "Unreasonable Doubt," Actors' Playhouse.


Best Production: "Twelve Angry Men," Maltz Jupiter Theatre; "Fifty Words," GableStage; "American Buffalo," Palm Beach Dramaworks; "Blasted," GableStage; "Collected Stories," Mosaic Theatre.

Best Director: Joseph Adler, "Fifty Words," GableStage; Joseph Adler, "Blasted," GableStage; Frank Galati, "Twelve Angry Men," Maltz; William Hayes, "American Buffalo," Dramaworks; Margaret M. Ledford, "Collected Stories," Mosaic.

Best Actor: Dennis Creaghan, "Freud's Last Session," Dramaworks; Todd Allen Durkin, "Blasted," GableStage; David Hemphill, "Equus," New Theatre; Ricky Waugh, "Dying City," Mosaic; Gregg Weiner, "Fifty Words," GableStage.

Best Actress: Barbara Bradshaw, "Collected Stories," Mosaic; Beth Dixon, "Three Tall Women," Dramaworks; Erin Joy Schmidt, "Fifty Words," GableStage; Erin Joy Schmidt, "Dying City," Mosaic; Karen Stephens, "Bridge and Tunnel," Women's Theatre Project.

Best Supporting Actor: Marckenson Charles, "Groundswell," Mosaic; Will Connolly, "Candida," Dramaworks; Erik Fabregat, "A Behanding in Spokane," GableStage; Erik Fabregat, "Blasted," GableStage; Michael McKeever, "Distracted," Caldwell Theatre Company.

Best Supporting Actress: Kim Morgan Dean, "Collected Stories," Mosaic; Angie Radosh, "Three Tall Women," Dramaworks; Jackie Rivera, "Speech and Debate," GableStage; Deborah L. Sherman, "Goldie, Max & Milk," Florida Stage; Deborah L. Sherman, "No Exit," Naked Stage.


Best Production: "Academy," Maltz; "The Drowsy Chaperone," Broward Stage Door Theatre; "La Cage aux Folles," Maltz; "Mack and Mabel," Stage Door; "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse.

Best Director: David Arisco, "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse; Dan Kelley, "The Drowsy Chaperone," Stage Door; Michael Leeds, "Mack and Mabel," Stage Door; Mark Martino, "La Cage aux Folles," Maltz; Marcia Milgrom Dodge, "Anything Goes," Maltz.

Best Actor: Mark Jacoby, "La Cage aux Folles," Maltz; Dan Kelley, "The Drowsy Chaperone," Stage Door; Herman Sebek, "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse; Bret Shuford, "Anything Goes," Maltz; Shane R. Tanner, "Mack and Mabel," Stage Door.

Best Actress: Irene Adjan, "Dr. Radio," Florida Stage; Mara Gabrielle, "Mack and Mabel," Stage Door; Tari Kelly, "Anything Goes," Maltz; Laura Oldham, "The Drowsy Chaperone," Stage Door; E.J. Zimmerman, "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse.

Best Supporting Actor: Tom Beckett, "Anything Goes," Maltz; Ken Clement, "Oliver!" Actors' Playhouse; Nick Duckart, "Dr. Radio," Florida Stage; Chris-Ian Sanchez, "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse; Shane R. Tanner, "Oliver!" Actors' Playhouse.

Best Supporting Actress: Eileen Faxas, "The Drowsy Chaperone," Stage Door; Elizabeth Dimon, "Oliver!" Actors' Playhouse; Lisa Manuli, "Motherhood the Musical," GFour; Amy Miller Brennan, "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse; Amy Miller Brennan, "Oliver!" Actors' Playhouse.

Best Musical Direction: Eric Alsford, "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse; Helen Gregory, "Anything Goes," Maltz; Phil Reno, "La Cage aux Folles," Maltz; Johnny Rodgers, "Motherhood the Musical," GFour; Alexander Rovang, "Academy," Maltz.

Best Choreography: Chrissi Ardito, "The Drowsy Chaperone," Stage Door; Chrissi Ardito, "Mack and Mabel," Stage Door; Chrissi Ardito, "Oliver!" Actors' Playhouse; Denis Jones, "La Cage aux Folles," Maltz; Marcia Milgrom Dodge, "Anything Goes," Maltz


Best Scenic Design: Michael Amico, "American Buffalo," Dramaworks; Lyle Baskin, "Fifty Words," GableStage; Tim Connolly, "Blasted," GableStage; Douglas Grinn, "Collected Stories," Mosaic; Sean McClelland, "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse.

Best Lighting: Ron Burns, "The Gin Game," Dramaworks; SuzAnne Jones, "Cane," Florida Stage; Jeff Quinn, "Blasted," GableStage; Jeff Quinn, "The Quarrel," GableStage; Patrick Tennent, "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse.

Best Costume Design: Gail Baldoni, "Anything Goes," Maltz; Brian O'Keefe, "Candida," Dramaworks; Jose M. Rivera, "La Cage aux Folles," Maltz; Ellis Tillman, "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse; Ellis Tillman, "Oliver!," Actors' Playhouse.

Best Sound Design: Matt Corey, "Blasted," GableStage; Matt Corey, "Groundswell," Mosaic; Alexander Herrin, "Miss Saigon," Actors' Playhouse; Matt Kelly, "Dr. Radio," Florida Stage; Matt Kelly, "Cane," Florida Stage.

Best Ensemble: "Twelve Angry Men," Maltz; "Completely Hollywood," Mosaic; "The Dumb Waiter," The Promethean Theatre; "Motherhood the Musical," GFour; "Speech and Debate," GableStage.

The ceremony will take place April 4th at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts. Read the full Miami Herald article here.

BroadwayWorld Awards Voting


Gavin Jordan Unveils Hoping for Todays Tomorrow Masterpiece Series at Spectrum Miami Art F Photo
Gavin Jordan Unveils 'Hoping for Today's Tomorrow' Masterpiece Series at Spectrum Miami Art Fair

Renowned Jamaican artist Gavin Jordan unveils 'Hoping for Today's Tomorrow' at Spectrum Art Fair. Discover the captivating works of this talented artist at Marie Fine Art Gallery.

DISENCHANTED Returns to MNM Theatre Company in January Photo
DISENCHANTED Returns to MNM Theatre Company in January

   Disenchanted, the fun-loving, subversive, and definitely not-for-the kiddies’ musical revue that proves happily-ever-after can be a ‘royal pain in the ass’, will be presented once again by Marcie Gorman and MNM Theatre Company.

Palm Beach Symphonys Adventures Of Peter And The Wolf Receives Broadcast Premiere Photo
Palm Beach Symphony's Adventures Of Peter And The Wolf Receives Broadcast Premiere

Palm Beach Symphony's 'The Adventures of Peter and the Wolf' receives broadcast premiere in December, narrated by Jon Secada. Don't miss this musical masterpiece on South Florida PBS.

2024 YoungArts Award Winners Revealed Photo
2024 YoungArts Award Winners Revealed

The 2024 YoungArts Award winners have been revealed, recognizing the most accomplished young artists from across the United States.

More Hot Stories For You


2023 Lyric Chamber Music Competition, Final Round in Miami Metro 2023 Lyric Chamber Music Competition, Final Round
Amarnick-Goldstein Concert Hall (12/13-12/13)
CHROMA 2023 in Miami Metro CHROMA 2023
Lucid Design District (12/05-12/05)
Xanadu in Miami Metro Xanadu
Shuler Stage (5/17-5/26)
A TUNA Christmas in Miami Metro A TUNA Christmas
Titusville Playhouse (12/15-12/22)
A Chorus Line in Miami Metro A Chorus Line
Lauderhill Performing Arts Center (1/11-1/28)
Pure Imagination: The Songs of Leslie Bricusse in Miami Metro Pure Imagination: The Songs of Leslie Bricusse
Park Summit (12/09-12/09)
Hamilton (Philip Company) in Miami Metro Hamilton (Philip Company)
Kravis Center for the Performing Arts [Dreyfoos Hall] (4/10-4/21)
Charlotte's Web in Miami Metro Charlotte's Web
Miami Theater Center (1/27-1/27)
Trying in Miami Metro Trying
Palm Beach Dramaworks (5/24-6/09)
To Kill a Mockingbird in Miami Metro To Kill a Mockingbird
Kravis Center for the Performing Arts [Dreyfoos Hall] (1/02-1/07)

Recommended For You