Ogunquit Playhouse Nominated For 17 IRNE Awards

Article Pixel

Ogunquit Playhouse Nominated For 17 IRNE AwardsThe Ogunquit Playhouse is thrilled to announce it has received seventeen Independent Reviewers of New England Award (IRNE) nominations for its 2017 productions of Bullets Over Broadway, Ragtime, and From Here to Eternity including Best Sound Design, Best Projection Design, Best Choreography, Best Ensemble, and Best Musical, as well as Best Music Director for Jeffrey Campos, Best Director for Seth Sklar-Heyn and Jeff Whiting, Best Supporting Actress for Sally Struthers, Best Supporting Actor for Julian Decker, Best Actress for Kirsten Scott, Best Actor for Josh Young, Darnell Abraham, and Reed Campbell, and Most Promising Young Performer for Tyler Wladis.

"To be recognized once again by the IRNE nominating committee alongside some of New England's leading theatres is a great honor. We are extremely proud of our beautiful production of Ragtime, the hilarious Bullets Over Broadway and of our regional premiere of >From Here to Eternity. Congratulations to our exceptional creative teams and casts who made our 85th Anniversary season a success. We want to extend our congratulations to all nominees who have been recognized by the IRNE Awards," Bradford Kenney, Executive Artistic Director at the Ogunquit Playhouse.

The Ogunquit production of the hilarious musical adaptation of Woody Allen's madcap film, Bullets Over Broadway is nominated for five IRNE Awards including Best Musical. Nominated for Best Actor is Reed Campbell, who made his Playhouse debut as the tap-dancing gangster Cheech. Mr. Campbell was Cookie McGee in the National Tour of Nice Work If You Can Get It, and returned to the Playhouse later in the season to perform in >From Here to Eternity. Two-time Emmy Award and Golden Globe Award winner Sally Struthers has been nominated for Best Supporting Actress for her performance as the dog-toting Eden Brent. A Playhouse favorite, Ms. Struthers has performed in many Ogunquit productions including Anything Goes, Nice Work If You Can Get It, and Always, Patsy Cline, among many others.

Jeff Whiting is nominated for Best Choreography and Best Director for helming the Ogunquit production of Bullets Over Broadway and recreating the original direction and Tony-nominated choreography of Susan Stroman. Mr. Whiting was the director on the National Tour of Bullets Over Broadway, and has numerous Broadway credits including twelve-time Tony-nominated The Scottsboro Boys, as well as the National Tours of Hairspray and The Producers.

Nominated for Best Projection Design is Christopher Ash for his work on From Here to Eternity at the Ogunquit Playhouse. From Here to Eternity tells the compelling story of men at war in the weeks before the 1941 attack on Pearl Harbor, and was based on the acclaimed novel by James Jones. Mr. Ash's work on Broadway includes Sunday at the Park with George and regionally at Yale Repertory, Old Globe, San Diego Repertory, and Lyric Opera Chicago, among many others.

The lauded Ogunquit production of Ragtime has been nominated for eleven IRNE Awards, including Best Musical and Best Ensemble. This sweeping musical portrait of early twentieth-century America had a cast and creative team of Broadway veterans, and received critical and audience praise both locally and nationally for the Ogunquit Playhouse during its 2017 run.

Nominated for Best Director for Ragtime is Seth Sklar-Heyn. Mr. Sklar-Heyn has served as the Executive Producer for Cameron Mackintosh Inc. in New York since 2013, and was the Executive Producer and Associate Director for the 2017 Broadway revival of Miss Saigon, as well as the Production Supervisor for The Phantom of the Opera on Broadway.

Playhouse veteran Jeffrey Campos is nominated for Best Music Director for his work on Ragtime. Mr. Campos has worked on numerous Ogunquit productions including 2017's Mamma Mia!, and 2015's Saturday Night Fever, Nice Work If You Can Get It, and Victor/Victoria. Nominated for Best Sound Design for Ragtime is Kevin Heard. Mr. Heard has been Sound Designer for numerous Playhouse productions, as well as Associate Sound Designer on Broadway for All The Way, The Cherry Orchard, and Sylvia, among many others. Jesse Robb is nominated for Best Choreography for his work on Ragtime. Mr. Robb was the Associate Choreographer for the 2017 Broadway revival of Miss Saigon, and was the Dance Captain/Swing for the World Premiere of The Lord of the Rings at the Princess of Wales Theatre in Toronto.

Kirsten Scott is nominated for Best Actress for her Ogunquit Playhouse debut as Mother. Ms. Scott's numerous Broadway roles include Young Phyllis, in the 2012 revival and cast album of Follies, Jenny Hill in Big Fish, and Lorraine in Jersey Boys. Nominated for Best Supporting Actor is Julian Decker, for his performance as Little Brother. Mr. Decker was recently seen in the Broadway revivals of Sunset Boulevard and Les Miserables, and has performed regionally in many productions including The Hunchback of Notre Dame, Bye Bye Birdie, and Singin' in the Rain.

Josh Young is nominated for Best Actor for his performance in Ragtime as Tateh. Mr. Young last appeared on the Ogunquit Playhouse stage as Marius in 2008's

Related Articles View More Maine Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You