Ensemble Studio Theatre Reveals New Members For Youngblood Program

Learn more about the new members here!

By: Dec. 01, 2023
Ensemble Studio Theatre Reveals New Members For Youngblood Program
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

Ensemble Studio Theatre’s Youngblood program has announced new members for the 2023-2024 season: jose sebastian alberdi, Libby Carr, Hanna Novak, Audley Puglisi, Eliana Theologides Rodriguez, Marissa Joyce Stamps, Graham Techler and May Treuhaft-Ali.

Ensemble Studio Theatre (EST) celebrates the 2023/24 season’s new members of Youngblood, the Obie Award-winning collective of emerging professional playwrights. Now in its 30th year, Youngblood serves as a creative home for the next generation of theatre artists. Youngblood provides artistic guidance, peer support, regular feedback and a fertile development environment, which allows member playwrights to hone their skills and explore their craft. The group also provides exposure to the public and the press, professional outreach to the industry, and opportunities for production and publication.

“We are thrilled to welcome this new cohort to Youngblood and to the larger EST community, to help support their work and the conversations and collaborations they are instigating, said Co-Artistic Director Estefanía Fadul. “It was an absolute delight to get to know so many incredible writers’ work over the course of the application process. The future is very bright!”

The new writers will be joining the returning Youngblood members: Harron Atkins, Lyndsey Bourne, Brysen Boyd, Edison Ventura Mata Diaz, K'yana Faulkner-Smith, Ava Geyer, Dylan Guerra, Miz Hashimoto, Justice Hehir, Lily Houghton, Renae Jarrett, Anchuli Felicia King, Nadja Leonhard-Hooper, kaia lyons, Sam Mueller, Charlie Oh, Ife Olujobi, Phanésia Pharel, Nia Akilah Robinson, Holly Settoon, Danny Tejera, Susan Yassky, and Celeste Yim. 

This year's graduating playwrights are Jake Brasch, Jeesun Choi, AJ Clauss, Gracie Gardner, Mona Pirnot, Phaedra Michelle Scott, and Lizzie Stern. While they will no longer be meeting regularly with Youngblood, EST will be inviting them back later in the season to write for one last Brunch--EST's recurring Sunday short play series by the writers of Youngblood. The next Brunch of the season will be the holiday edition, Walking in Winter WonderBRUNCH, on December 3, with the subsequent installments to be announced for 2024.

Playwrights whose professional careers began in the Youngblood program have gone on to success at the highest levels of the industry, including recent accolades for Annie Baker, Martyna Majok, Sanaz Toossi Lloyd Suh, Sylvia Khoury, Will Arbery, Clare Barron, and Amy Herzog.  Youngblood playwrights have been honored with Pulitzer Prizes, Obie Awards, MacArthur Fellowships, Tony Award nominations, Outer Critics Circle Awards, Drama Desk Awards, and Oscar, Emmy, and Golden Globe Award nominations.

Industry Classifieds