Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on 2010 AWARDS SEASON

Chicago’s Theater Community And Fans Come Together At The First Annual BroadwayWorld Chicago Awards Celebration!

Wednesday evening, December 29th, BroadwayWorld Chicago hosted the first annual Celebration of the BroadwayWorld Chicago Awards (the BCAs, or The Broadys) at The Call nightclub, 1547 W. Bryn Mawr Avenue in the Andersonville neighborhood. VJ Mike Hogan kept the showtune videos rolling all night long, as winners of the 2010 Awards (voted on by the fans through BroadwayWorld's online voting system) spoke periodically to the crowd. 

BWW Chicago Contributor and author of the weekly "Showtune Mosh Pit" column Paul W. Thompson welcomed the crowd around 9:30 pm, and introduced Contributor M. William Panek. The crowd also heard from Jim Schneider, director of the Circle Theatre production of "The Philadelphia Story," which won the BCA for Best Revival of a Play in the Non-Equity category. Schneider expressed gratitude on behalf of Jesus Perez, winner for Best Costume Design (Resident, Non-Equity) for his budget-stretching work on Circle's "The Best Little Whorehouse In Texas." 

"Philadelphia Story" Best Actor winner Josh Hambrock spoke next, thanking BroadwayWorld and the audience, and bringing the regrets of his leading lady, Broady Award winner Laura McClain

Then the crowd heard from three representatives of Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre's Award-winning production of "Chess." Director Fred Anzevino spoke first (Best Revival of a Musical, Resident Non-Equity), followed by Brenda Didier (Best Choreography) and Jeremy Trager (Best Actor). All three were humbled by the continued high level of interest in their work 

Next up was Amanda Murphy, co-writer (with Jamie Campbell) of the Best New Work/New Adaptation, called "four play." Best Actress (of a Non-Equity Resident Musical or Revue) winner Heather Bodie was hoping to surprise the crowd by flying in from Denver that afternoon, but weather made her unable to attend. 

The winner for Best Scenic Design (Resident Non-Equity), John Rotonda, graciously spoke to the crowd about his involvement with Joe DiPietro's new play, "Fucking Men," and thanked the theatergoing public and Bailiwick Chicago for bringing Gay and Lesbian issues to forums of public discussion. 

The artistic director of Writers' Theatre, Michael Halberstam, spoke to the crowd around 11:30 pm, graciously acknowledging his theater's award for Best Revival of a Play (Resident Equity) and expressing regrets from Best Actress winner Natasha Lowe

After noting the regrets of absence of some of the other winners, Paul W. Thompson read e-mails of thanks and joy to BroadwayWorld Chicago from the directors of the biggest Award winners, "Ragtime" (Rachel Rockwell) and "Jesus Christ Superstar" (Stacey Flaster). Those suburban productions accounted for seven of the Awards in the Equity Musical Revival categories. The crowd then enjoyed The Call's showtune video collection until the wee hours of the morning. 

For a complete list of the winners in each of the 25 categories, click HERE. And be sure to watch next fall for the announcement of the nomination and voting procedures for the 2011 BroadwayWorld Chicago Awards, covering the eligibility period September of 2010 through August of 2011. The second annual BCAs are sure to be cause for another Celebration!

PHOTO CREDIT:  The Call and Rob Anthony



M. William Panek addresses the crowd.

Fred Anzevino

Brenda Didier

Jeremy Trager

Amanda Murphy

John Rotonda






Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles

From This Author Paul W. Thompson

Paul W. Thompson, a contributor to since 2007, is a Chicago-based singer, actor, musical director, pianist, vocal coach, composer and commentator. His career as (read more...)