Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Tom Hanks to Receive 'Hollywood Actor Award' at 20th Annual HOLLYWOOD FILM AWARDS

dick clark productions announced today that Academy Award-winning actor Tom Hanks will be honored with the "Hollywood Actor Award" for his performance in critically acclaimed "Sully" at the 20th Annual "Hollywood Film Awards."

"Tom Hanks delivered another amazing performance in a career filled with amazing performances. We are thrilled to honor him," said Allen Shapiro, CEO of dick clark productions.

The awards ceremony, celebrating its 20th anniversary as the official launch of the awards season, will be hosted by actor and comedian James Corden, and will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, on November 6, 2016. The HOLLYWOOD FILM AWARDS honors some of the most acclaimed films and actors, as well as artists in Cinematography, Visual Effects, Film Composing, Costume Design, Editing, Production Design, Sound and Makeup & Hairstyling. Its honorees over the past 20 years have included the world's biggest stars and more than 110 have gone on to garner Oscar nominations and/or wins.

Tom Hanks is an award-winning actor, producer and director. One of only two actors in history to win back-to-back Best Actor Academy Awards, he won his first Oscar in 1994 for his moving portrayal of AIDS-stricken lawyer Andrew Beckett in Jonathan Demme's "Philadelphia." The following year, he took home his second Oscar for his unforgettable performance in the title role of Robert Zemeckis' "Forrest Gump." He also won GOLDEN GLOBE AWARDS for both films, as well as a Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Award for the latter. Hanks was most recently seen in "Captain Phillips," Stephen Spielberg's "Bridge of Spies" and Clint Eastwood's "Sully."

About Sully On January 15, 2009, the world witnessed the "Miracle on the Hudson" when Captain "Sully" Sullenberger glided his commercial airliner onto the frigid waters of the Hudson River, saving the lives of all 155 passengers and crew aboard. However, even as Sully was being heralded worldwide for his unprecedented feat of aviation skill, an investigation was unfolding that threatened to destroy his reputation and his career.

The film is directed by Clint Eastwood with a screenplay by Todd Komarnicki based on the book Highest Duty by Chelsey "Sully" Sullenberger and Jeffrey Zaslow.

The film is produced by Eastwood, Frank Marshall, Allyn Stewart and Tim Moore. The film stars Tom Hanks, Aaron Eckhart and Laura Linney. Eastwood's below-the-line collaborators include director of photography Tom Stern, A.F.C., A.S.C., production designer James J. Murakami, editor Blu Murray, costume designer Deborah Hopper, casting by Geoffrey Miclat, C.S.A., visual effects supervisor Michael Owens and music by Christian Jacob and The Tierney Sutton Band.

Previously announced honorees for this year's show include: "Hollywood Career Achievement Award," Eddie Murphy; "Hollywood Blockbuster Award," "The Jungle Book"; "Hollywood Animation Award," "Zootopia"; "Hollywood Cinematography Award," Linus Sandgren; "Hollywood Film Composer Award," Mychael Danna; "Hollywood Editor Award," John Gilbert; "Hollywood Visual Effects Award," Stephane Ceretti and Richard Bluff; "Hollywood Sound Award," Christopher Boyes and Frank Eulner; "Hollywood Costume Design Award," Albert Wolsky; "Hollywood Make Up & Hair Styling Award," Shane Thomas, Angela Conte, Bec Taylor and Noriko Waztanabe; and "Hollywood Production Design Award," Wynn Thomas.

Additional honorees for this year's event will be announced at a later date.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride / WM Photos

Featured at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author Movies News Desk