Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

THE CROWN: Season One Debuts on Blu-ray and DVD Today


Winner of three Emmy® Awards, including Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series, the critically acclaimed THE CROWN: SEASON ONE debuts on Blu-ray™ and DVD November 7 courtesy of Sony Pictures Home Entertainment. THE CROWN: SEASON ONE, created by two-time Academy Award® nominee Peter Morgan (2006, Best Original Screenplay, The Queen; 2008, Best Adapted Screenplay, Frost/Nixon), charts how a princess truly becomes a Head of State, depicting the period from Queen Elizabeth II's marriage to the Duke of Edinburgh through to the disintegration of Princess Margaret's engagement to Peter Townsend. THE CROWN: SEASON ONE Blu-ray™ and DVD will include all ten episodes along with a gallery of unit photography.

Starring Claire Foy (TV's "Little Dorrit," "Wolf Hall"), whose portrayal of Queen Elizabeth II earned her an Emmy® Award nomination and Golden Globe® Award win, Matt Smith (TV's "Doctor Who", Terminator: Genisys) as the Duke of Edinburgh, Vanessa Kirby (Me Before You, Everest) as Princess Margaret, Jared Harris (TV's "Mad Men," SHERLOCK Holmes: A Game Of Shadows) as King George VI, and John Lithgow (Interstellar, Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes), who won an Emmy® Award and earned a Golden Globe® nomination for his role as Winston Churchill, the series takes a sumptuous look at the early part of the Queen's reign and the circumstances that led to it.

The series also stars Dame Eileen Atkins (TV's "Upstairs Downstairs," Gosford Park),
Victoria Hamilton ("Victoria & Albert", Mansfield Park), Harriet Walter (The Sense Of An Ending, Atonement), Jeremy Northam (Eye In The Sky, Glorious 39), Greg Wise (Blackwood, Effie Gray) and Ben Miles (Woman In Gold, V For Vendetta).

Produced by Left Bank Pictures in association with Sony Pictures Television, THE CROWN's incredible pedigree in front of the camera is matched by the talent behind the scenes. Nominated for an Emmy® for Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series, creator Peter Morgan is joined by a team of directors, including Emmy®-nominated Stephen Daldry, while the teams behind the costume design and art direction each took home an Emmy® for their work on the series. THE CROWN is executive produced by Peter Morgan (The Queen), Stephen Daldry (The Hours), Andy Harries (The Queen), Philip Martin (TV's "Prime Suspect 7: The Final Act"), Suzanne Mackie (TV's "Mad Dogs," Calendar Girls), Matthew Byam Shaw (Frost/Nixon), Robert FOX (Atonement), Tanya Seghatchian (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire), Nina Wolarsky (Argo) and Allie Goss (TV's "Daredevil").

The British EMPIRE is in decline, the political world is in disarray, and a young woman takes the throne...a new era is dawning. Queen Elizabeth II is a 25-year-old newlywed faced with the daunting prospect of leading the world's most famous monarchy while forging a relationship with legendary Prime Minister Sir Winston Churchill. Golden Globe®-winner for Best TV Drama Series, "The Crown", created by Peter Morgan, explores the Queen's private journey behind the public facade with daring frankness.

Broadcast Year: 2017. THE CROWN: SEASON ONE is not rated.

"Academy Award®" is the registered trademark and service mark of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
"BAFTA®" is the registered trademark of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts.
"Golden Globe(s)®" is the registered trademark and service mark of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association.
Emmy® is the trademark property of ATAS/NATAS.

Related Articles View More TV Stories

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

From This Author BWW News Desk