Original SNL Cast, Shonda Rhimes & More Set for TV Academy Hall of Fame

Original SNL Cast, Shonda Rhimes & More Set for TV Academy Hall of Fame

According to The Hollywood Reporter, The Television Academy has announced the names of the new inductees into its Hall of Fame. This year's honorees include Shonda Rhimes, creator of such hit series as GREY'S ANATOMY and SCANDAL, TV writer-producer John Wells, Emmy-winning art director Roy Christopher, late comedian Joan Rivers and the entire original cast of Saturday Night Live, including Dan Aykroyd, Chevy Chase, Jane Curtin, Garrett Morris, Laraine Newman and the late Gilda Radner and John Belushi.

Said Hayma Washington, chairman and CEO of the Television Academy, "All of these individuals are innovators who have shaped television and left an indelible mark on the medium and our culture. We are honored to welcome the latest group of distinguished individuals and look forward to showcasing their impacts for future generations."

Added Hall of Fame Selection Committee Chair Rick Rosen, "Television's evolution can be attributed to the substantial work of numerous individuals. It is a pleasure to honor a group whose contributions have had and will continue to have a powerful influence on our ever exciting and evolving industry."

The 2017 honorees will be officially inducted at the annual Hall of Fame ceremony on Novembeer 15th, taking place at the TV Academy's Saban Media Center. They join over 135 TV professionals who've been inducted since the Hall of Fame opened in 1984. Click here for a complete list of past inductees.

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram