Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

CBS Sports' Broadcaster Verne Lundquist to Receive Vin Scully Award


CBS Sports broadcaster Verne Lundquist will receive the Vin Scully Lifetime Achievement Award in Sports Broadcasting from WFUV Radio (90.7 FM/ at the station's Seventh Annual Spring Gala on Thursday night, May 8, at Gotham Hall in New York City, it was announced today by Fordham University's non-commercial, public media service.

Lundquist, the lead play-by-play announcer for CBS Sports' coverage of college football, also does play-by-play for NCAA Basketball, including the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championship, and provides commentary for the Masters and the PGA Championship, among other PGA Tour events. He is admired by peers as a humble professional.

Scully, the iconic Voice of the Dodgers for 60 years, is a renowned Fordham graduate, and product of WFUV Radio, which was his launching pad to a Hall of Fame career. Past Scully Award winners include: inaugural recipient Scully (2008), Dick Enberg (2009), Ernie Harwell (2010), Pat Summerall (2011), Al Michaels (2012), and Bob Costas (2013).

Three additional honorees have also been announced: soul/gospel legend, Rock and Roll Hall of Famer, and civil rights icon, Mavis Staples will be awarded the "Artist of the Year" honors. Scott Simon will receive the "Charles Osgood Lifetime Achievement in Broadcast Journalism." Like Scully, Osgood is a legendary product of WFUV. This is the third year WFUV will honor an individual or organization for their "Community Service," and the 2014 recipient is Katherine Oliver, principal partner at Bloomberg Associates, an international consulting service founded by former New York City mayor Michael Bloomberg as a philanthropic venture to help city governments improve the quality of life of their citizens.

Lundquist joined CBS Sports in 1982, and was inducted into the National Sportscaster and Sportswriters Hall of Fame in April 2007. This year marks his 30th year broadcasting the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championship and the Masters. He has been a regular member of CBS's golf announce team from 1983-95. During his career, he worked with Terry Bradshaw and Dan Fouts, and occasionally with lead analyst John Madden, on the Network's NFL broadcasts and was lead play-by-play announcer for CBS's coverage of figure skating during the 1992, 1994 and 1998 Olympic Winter Games. He had extensive involvement in the Network's previous coverage of the NBA.

For more information about the event or to purchase tickets, please visit, email or call (212) 930-8898.

Following in Scully's huge footsteps, WFUV alumni who have also used the station as a springboard include the following team play-by-play broadcasters: Mike Breen (Knicks television), Michael Kay (Yankees television), Bob Papa (football Giants radio), Chris Carrino (Nets radio), Charlie Slowes (Nationals television), Spero Dedes (Knicks radio), and Ryan Ruocco (Nets television).

Related Articles View More TV Stories

Buy at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

From This Author Caryn Robbins