36th Annual Daytime Emmy Award Nominations Announced

By: May. 14, 2009
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) today announced the nominees for the 36th Annual Daytime Entertainment Emmy® Awards. Nine major categories were announced this morning on "The Today Show," including the host of the telecast, Vanessa Williams, recording and television star, currently seen on the hit show, "Ugly Betty."

The show will be telecast on the CW Television Network on Sunday,August 30th, 2009 from the historic Orpheum Theatre in Los Angeles, CA. 

The show is a unique partnership between NATAS, Associated Television International (ATI), The CW Network and MGM Worldwide Television, which is handling distribution of the telecast. Good Housekeeping is the official print partner of the Daytime Emmy Awards. As previously announced, this year's Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Sesame Street for its 40 years of educating and entertaining our children, their children and most of us! Good Housekeeping will co-host the nomination party at the Hearst Tower this evening to salute the honorees. In addition, a special style section, "Winning Looks" will appear in the September 2009 issue of Good Housekeeping to celebrate the Daytime Emmy Awards. "Winning Looks" will spotlight daytime actresses and personalities, highlighting must-have products. The September issue will be available on newsstands on August 11.

The Daytime Entertainment Emmy® Awards recognize outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television production and are presented to individuals and programs broadcast from 2:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m. during the 2008 calendar year. The 36th Annual Daytime Emmy® Awards is a presentation of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in cooperation with the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. 

2009 Daytime Emmy Award Nominations

Outstanding Lead Actor Nominees:

All My Children's Thorsten Kaye (Zack Slater)
Days of Our Lives' Peter Reckell (Bo Brady)
General Hospital's Anthony Geary (Luke Spencer)
Guiding Light's Daniel Cosgrove (Bill Lewis)
The Young and the Restless' Christian LeBlanc (Michael Baldwin)

Outstanding Drama Series Directing Team:

All My Children
Days Of Our Lives
One Life to Live

Outstanding Drama Series Nominees:

All My Children
The Bold and the Beautiful
Days of Our Lives

Outstanding Drama Series Writing Team:

All My Children
The Bold and The Beautiful
General Hospital
One Life to Live

Outstanding Supporting Actor Nominees:

All My Children's Vincent Irrizary (David Hayward) and Jacob Young (JR Chandler)
As The World Turns' Van Hansis (Luke Snyder)
Guiding Light's Jeff Branson (Shayne Lewis)
General Hospital's Bradford Anderson (Spinelli) GH) - ABC

Outstanding Lead Actress Nominees:

All My Children's Debbi Morgan (Angie Hubbard)
As The World Turns' Maura West (Carly Tenney)
The Bold and the Beautiful's Susan Flannery (Stephanie Forrester)
One Life to Live's Susan Haskell (Marty Thornhart)
The Young and the Restless' Jeanne Cooper (Katherine Chancellor)

Outstanding Supporting Actress Nominees:

All My Children's Melissa Claire Egan (Annie Lavery) and Alicia Mishew (Kendall Slater)
As The World Turns' Julie Pinson (Janet Snyder)
Days of Our Lives' Tamara Braun (Ava)
One Life to Live's Bree Williamson (Jessica Brennan)

Cornelius Smith Jr. (Frankie, AMC)
Darin Brooks (Max, DAYS)
Blake Berris (ex-Nick, DAYS)
EJ Bonilla (Rafe, GL)
Bryton McClure (Devon, Y&R)

Meredith Hagner (Liberty, ATWT)
Rachel Melvin (Chelsea, DAYS)
Kirsten Storms (Maxie, GH)
Julie Marie Berman (Lulu, GH)
Emily O'Brien (Jana, Y&R)

Outstanding Talk Show Host Nominees:
Regis Philbin and Kelly Ripa (Live with Regis and Kelly)
Rachel Ray (Rachel Ray)
Ellen Degeneres (Ellen)
The View

Outstanding Talk Show Nominees:
Live with Regis and Kelly
Rachel Ray

Morning Programs:
Good Morning America
The Today Show

Talk Show Informative:
Dr. Phil
The Doctors

Talk Show Entertainer:
Rachel Ray

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, Technology & Engineering, and Business & Financial Reporting. Regional Emmy® Awards are given in 19 regions across the United States. NATAS also presents the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Global Media AwardsTM which recognizes excellence in the world-wide
intersection of digital entertainment and technology.

Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including National Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.

For more information, please visit the website at www.emmyonline.tv