Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

VIDEO: Watch the New Music Video for Elise Davis' 'Lone Wolf'

Next Friday, September 7, Elise Davis returns with her sophomore album Cactus, the follow up to her 2016 critically-acclaimed debut The Token. With Cactus, Elise moves between lush alt-country and stripped-down folk confessionals, gluing everything together with story-driven songs about independence, liberation, and resilience as an adult woman.

Today, Elise Davis released the video for "Lone Wolf." BrooklynVegan said, "The album was produced by Jordan Lehning, who's worked closely with Andrew Combs and Caitlin Rose and has done string arrangements for Kacey Musgraves, and if you like any of those artists but haven't heard Elise Davis, that's worth changing. She's got a great voice, and she has a similar knack for making '60s/'70s style country with a modern-day touch."

The album is now available for pre-order and includes instant downloads of 5 songs from the forthcoming album.

Rolling Stone recently shared the video for "Hold Me Like a Gun" and said, "'Hold Me Like a Gun' has the airy, wide-open sonic ambience of a spaghetti-western soundtrack theme, with a video most notable for what it doesn't reveal."

The track "Married Young" received support from Billboard, Rolling Stone, and Wide Open Country.

NPR Music premiered the video for "Don't Bring Me Flowers," the first single fromCactus that was co-written with Maren Morris and Frank Romano. NPR Music's Brittney McKenna said, "'Don't Bring Me Flowers' is downright buoyant, flirting with pop melodies and allowing more room for Davis to go big with her formidable voice."

For Cactus, Davis tapped producer Jordan Lehning (Caitlin Rose, Andrew Combs, Birdcloud's Jasmin Kaset) to helm her most personal work to date. The two worked together for six months straight, holed up in Lehning's home studio, looking to albums like Tom Petty's Wildflowers and Aimee Mann's Mental Illness for inspiration. Davis' melodies remain at the forefront of every mix, her voice honest and unflinching, stripped free of the reverb that had swirled its way throughout The Token.

"Cacti are independent plants that sustain themselves," explains Davis about the new album. "They can be beautiful with bright-colored flowers on them, but if you touch them, they will hurt you. I see a lot of parallels with the way I have felt most of my life. It felt like the perfect album title for these songs."


1) Hold Me Like A Gun

2) The Burn

3) Cactus

4) Married Young

5) Lone Wolf

6) 33

7) Last Laugh

8) Man

9) Moody Marilyn

10) Don't Bring Me Flowers

Tour Dates:

9/14: Nashville, TN - AmericanaFest - The Local

9/15: Nashville, TN - Americanarama - Grimey's

9/16: Nashville, TN - Ascend Amphitheater - Woofstock

Photo Credit: Alysse Gafkjen

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You