Unkle Releases New Album THE ROAD: PART II/THE HIGHWAY

By: Mar. 29, 2019
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

Unkle Releases New Album THE ROAD: PART II/THE HIGHWAY

UNKLE have just released their new album THE ROAD: PART II / LOST HIGHWAY through frontman James Lavelle's label Songs For The Def. The album, which is split into two acts, is the follow-up to the highly acclaimed The Road: Part 1. The highly anticipated record has already made headlines with tastemakers like Pitchfork, Stereogum, SPIN, and KEXP!

Listen to The Road: Part II / Lost Highway here!

"I started doing a show on Soho Radio in 2018, which made me think about playing records in a different way. It wasn't about trying to make people dance in a nightclub. It was a breath of fresh air, and about playing a more eclectic mix. The Road: Part II was made in the same way - it's a mixtape and a journey. You're in your car, starting in the day and driving into the night. The language of it was to be the ultimate road trip.

It's the mid-part of a trilogy. The first record is like you're leaving home; you're naive and on a journey of discovery. There are elements of my early days in there, as well as a bit of everything since. There's an optimism and excitement to the record, as there was with me having to direct this project alone for the first time.

This record is the journey. You're on the road, out there in the world. There are let downs, highs, lows, love, loss and experiences. The third record to come is basically about coming home; wherever that may be."

- Creative force behind UNKLE, James Lavelle.

As with every UNKLE release, there is an incredible array of guests on the record. Artwork for the album is by heralded artist, John Stark. Full tracklisting and guest artists are as follows:

Act I

Iter VI: Prologue
Elliott Power

Requiem (When You Talk of Love)
Mark Lanegan, Michèle Lamy, John Isaacs, Brian Cox

Miink, Elliott Power

Iter VII: Lost

The Other Side
Tom Smith (Editors) , Philip Sheppard

Feel More / With Less
Liela Moss, Miink, Philip Sheppard

Nothing to Give
Miink, Elliott Power, Jon Theodore (Queens Of The Stone Age)

Iter VIII: However Vast the Darkness
Brian Cox

Long Gone
Tessa Angus, Ysée, Philip Sheppard

Only You
Miink, Wil Malone

The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
Keaton Henson, Philip S
Act II

Iter IX: Epilogue / Tales of the City
Elliott Power

Crucifixion / A Prophet
Tom Smith (Editors), Ian Astbury (The Cult) , Chris Goss, Eska, Miink , BOC, Troy Van Leeuwen, Justin Stanley

Powder Man
Chris Goss

Mick Jones (The Clash)

Sun (The)
Leila Moss

Find an Outsider
The Big Pink

Iter X: Found
Christiane Kubrick

Days and Nights
Dhani Harrison, Philip Sheppard, Andrew Innes (Primal Scream)

Dhani Harrison

Iter XI: In Your Arms
Brian Cox

Touch Me
Leila Mosste