Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Serj Tankian Releases Soundtrack For Award Winning Film THE LAST INHABITANT

Serj Tankian Releases Soundtrack For Award Winning Film THE LAST INHABITANT

Grammy Award-winning and multi-platinum recording artist, songwriter, composer, poet and visual artist Serj Tankian today released the soundtrack to award winning film The Last Inhabitant via his own label Serjical Strike Records. The film was theatrically released in 2016 and was well received to audiences in theatres and film festivals internationally, picking up awards and accolades along the way. The Last Inhabitant was Tankian's second film at the helm as composer, and he's since created musical scores for multiple award winning films. The soundtrack is available now globally via iTunes, Spotify, Apple Music and other digital platforms worldwide.

While creating music for the film, Tankian captured not only the drama and intrigue within the storyline, but also drew upon the film's country of origin to craft a very unique and moving assemblage of compositions.

The track listing includes 33 original tracks all composed, produced and mixed by Tankian himself. The score weaves from melancholic to suspenseful to high-action, utilizing traditional orchestral instrumentation, heavy percussive elements as well as traditional folk instruments from Armenia.

Directed by award winning Armenian filmmaker Jivan Avetisyan, The Last Inhabitant follows the story of Abgar, an Armenian evictee as a result of the Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict of the early 1990s. Despite the dangers, Abgar stays behind alone in a gradually shrinking enemy ring, awaiting the return of his daughter, who is in need of care after suffering traumas of her own.

The Last Inhabitant was among the list of films considered in the "Best Foreign Language" category of the 74th Golden Globe Awards, and was awarded "Best Feature Film" at the 2017 Scandinavian International Film Festival. It was also screened at Italy's 74th annual Venice Film Festival and the 20th Shanghai International Festival.

The album is available for download and streaming at the links found HERE

A full track listing to The Last Inhabitant - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is below.


1. Intro: The Mountains Speak
2. Title Track Meets the Commandante
3. Ibrahim's Household
4. Rebecca's Pain to Apkar's
5. The Commandante and the Artiste
6. Apkar Going Home
7. Apkar Finds Ibrahim At His Doorstep
8. Post Office To Apkar's House Readying
9. Artiste And The Russian Soldier
10. Jurka Comes Home
11. Jurka Wakes Up
12. The Melancholy Of Apkar's Life
13. Ibrahim And Apkar Discuss The Tombstone
14. Apkar Working On The Tombstone
15. Apkar's Home Vandalized
16. Varsenig
17. The Artiste Is Near
18. Jurka Theme Precursor
19. Apkar's Love For Jurka
20. Death Or Tea?
21. The Bathing Of Danger
22. Jurka's Theme: The Lullaby
23. Rebeka Gives Birth
24. Helicopter
25. Danger Approaches
26. The Dangerous Artiste Is Here
27. The Quiet Escape
28. Fire Chat: Saying Goodbye
29. Remembering Razmik
30. The Battle
31. Jurka's Final Theme: The Lullaby In Full
32. Fragile
33. Piano End Credits

Serj Tankian is a Grammy winning and multi-platinum recording artist, singer, songwriter, poet, visual artist, activist and composer. An Armenian born in Lebanon and re-rooted in Los Angeles, Serj was introduced to the melding of cultures, ideas and ideals from a very young age.

Tankian got his first opportunity to compose for film in 2006, when he was tapped by famed director William Friedkin to come up with a theme for his psychological thriller Bug. In the 8 years to follow, Serj was able to squeeze in a few shorter length compositions for film and TV projects in the midst of extensive touring cycles and solo album releases. With a need to be more creative with his musical talents, Tankian made a conscious decision in late 2014 to focus more on scoring for film, TV and video games. In 2015, he was brought on by independent film makers Garin Hovannisian and Alec Mouhibian to score 1915, starring Angela Sarafyan and Simon Abkarian. 1915marked Serj's first full film score, and he was intent on doing more. Over the past few years, additional credits include composing the film score for The Last Inhabitant, an original composition for Ilya Naishuller's Hardcore Henryand video game musical scores for Midnight Starand its sequel Renegade, which were created by one of the chief creators of the famed Halo game franchise.

In 2017, he also recorded a modern version of Armenian folk song "Sari Siroun Yar" along with the Authentic Light Orchestra for recently released film The Promise, directed by Terry George, starring Christian Bale and Oscar Isaac. Tankian was also brought on by Survival Pictures, the producers of The Promise, to serve as an Executive Music Consultant on the film. Also in the same year, Serj Tankian composed original musical scores for two feature length films, Intent To Destroyby award winning documentarian Joe Berlinger and Furious-The Legend Of Kolovrat, an epic Russian historical fantasy film set in the 13thCentury. Both soundtracks were released by Lakeshore Records. His most recent musical score came for acclaimed director Alexander Kott's 2018 film Spitak, the deeply moving drama about the 1988 Armenian earthquake that claimed over 20,000 lives.

Early in his musical career, Serj found an outlet as the rabble-rousing lead singer and songwriter of the largely successful rock band System of a Down, a band that has reached into the hearts and minds of millions of people relaying multiple messages of love, awareness and activism. System of a Down has 5 studio album releases, three of which debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, and has also been nominated for four Grammy Awards and snagged one in 2006 for 'Best Hard Rock Performance' for their song "B.Y.O.B."

Tankian has released 6 albums of his own solo material, beginning with 2007's chart-topping hard rock album Elect The Deadand it's symphonic counterpart Elect The Dead Symphony. His sophomore solo album Imperfect Harmonieswas released in 2010, followed by Harakiri in 2012. 2013 saw two distinct releases from Serj, with the first being the critically acclaimed Orca Symphony No. 1, released in June of that year, followed up with the very unique Jazz-iz Christone month later.

Featured BroadwayWorld Events

Check out these concerts...

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You