SYCO/Columbia Records Set To Release Il Divo - The Greatest Hits On 11/20

The one and only Il Divo will celebrate eight years of unprecedented global success with the release of The Greatest Hits, a definitive 18-song collection featuring four brand new tracks out November 20 on SYCO/Columbia Records.

The world's first classical crossover group – Urs BuhlerCarlos MarinDavid Miller and Sebastien Izambard – have sold over 26 million albums, enjoyed over 50 number ones, chalked up 160 gold and platinum sales in over 33 countries and staged 4 world tours.

Il Divo have been on one sensational journey since their debut album exploded in November 2004 creating musical history and cementing their place as the first ever classical crossover artists. Their savvy mix of classical and pop have made them worldwide superstars. Last May the UK Classic Brits gave Il Divo the prestigious 'Artists of the Decade' Award to mark them spearheading a whole new genre of music.

Their second album, Ancora, released November 2006 in the UK, magnified their success. When it was released in the USA in January 2007, it went straight to number one in the Billboard charts, a feat that has not been repeated by any classical or crossover artist to this day.

Similarly they have become a global touring phenomenon, with their first world tour a sell out, playing 68 cities across 18 countries in 2006. Following the Billboard Breakthrough Award for one of the highest grossing tours in 2009, their current fourth world tour sees them perform an incredible 134 shows across 46 countries on 6 continents this year.

Their amazing career knows no bounds.  Highlights include appearing at the opening and closing ceremony of the 2006 Fifa World Cup, touring as special guests to Barbra Streisand, a 2009 performance at President Obama's Purple Inauguration Ball and earlier this year at a special concert for Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth's Diamond Jubilee at Windsor Castle.

Il Divo - The Greatest Hits will be released as an 18 track CD. Many of the tracks have been chosen by their fans all over the world and include favorites "Somewhere," "Unbreak My Heart," "Unchained Melody" and "Adagio." They've also recorded four songs especially for this release: "My Heart Will Go On" (in Italian), "I Will Always Love You" (in Spanish), "I Can't Help Falling In Love" (English) and "Alone" (Spanish).

"I am proud of this Greatest Hits," says Carlos. "I love every song on it. It reminds me of everything we have achieved, to have been together for so many years, still selling so many records, playing so many concerts and making such great music together. It is just fantastic people have supported and enjoyed what we do for so long. It is the love of my life."

Urs says, "As a singer you can never take for granted what you do, every note is a balancing act. But every night I step on stage so proud of what we do. I have learned so much these past 8 years, had so many wonderful experiences and cherished every moment. This Greatest Hits release for us and hopefully our fans marks what has been an incredible journey so far."

Fans around the world wholeheartedly agree with those sentiments. That beautiful blend of voices has been widely imitated since their inception but never bettered. There is only one original. There is only one Il Divo.

Full Tracklisting for Il Divo – The Greatest Hits

  1. My Heart Will Go On*
  2. I Will Always Love You*
  3. I Can't Help Falling In Love With You*
  4. Alone*
  5. Unchained Melody
  6. Amazing Grace
  7. Hero
  8. Unbreak My Heart
  9. Somewhere
  10. Passera
  11. All By Myself
  12. Mama
  13. Adagio
  14. Without You
  15. Caruso
  16. Don't Cry for Me Argentina
  17. My Way
  18. Time To Say Goodbye

*new track

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram