SPC ECO's CALM LP Gear Up For Vinyl Release via Germany's Tapete Records

SPC ECO's CALM LP Gear Up For Vinyl Release via Germany's Tapete Records

Tapete Records has announced that SPC ECO has joined their roster and that they will be issuing the band's new album 'Calm' on vinyl. This release follows the band's 'Under My Skin' EP, released earlier this year.

If the demise of ground-breaking duo Curve was a storm-cloud in the musical skies of the 90's, the silver lining was that Dean Garcia went on to form SPC ECO with Rose Berlin. This a coming together of an electronic musical maverick and a vulnerable yet tender vocal style and even more endearing is the fact that this is informed by the bond of a father and daughter exploring their relationship and the world around them through music. This year, SPC ECO is celebrating their 10th anniversary with the release of 'Calm'.

This bond lies at the heart of the music, and is something that goes beyond two musicians creating heartfelt sounds and becomes the language of their very souls, a conversation that is often too difficult to be encapsulated by mere words. Like many worthy conversations, Dean and Rose choose their words and make their plans carefully.

"When we started this record in early January 2017, we knew we wanted to take our time with it, no need to rush it out and go with the first ten songs we recorded, I think we made almost 3 albums worth of songs with this one so there are some cool outtakes to add or use as the album gets underway," says Dean Garcia.

"We also knew that we wanted to explore the layered guitar side of things that we've been side-lining since the 'Sirens' album. This record has shades of our first release '3D', which was recorded about 10 years ago, as well as the current more Bristol-flavoured feels that we love so much. It has a bit of everything we like to hear and record, plus it's a calm way to celebrate our ten years of doing this. Rose has come into her own, she's actually quite good at this s now, and she even drops a mean bass on this record."

On the one hand, 'Calm' is potent and positively charged. On the other, it feels like a collection of moods, wistful reflections made into sound, barely tangible but emotively powerful expressions. Often with minimal symphonic landscaping and gossamer vocals, SPC ECO have created something that is vast and beautifully pervasive. Psychedelic washes and slightly trippy beats swirl around as gorgeous, gauzy dream pop prevails. But often it is the gaps between the notes and the breath between the words that has the biggest impact.

"Calm is nostalgic in the way it feels like there are vibes from all our previous albums," says vocalist Rose Berlin. "We didn't limit the songs to one genre instead we had fun and did what ever we wanted. It's loud and trip hop, psychedelic lullabies and It's us. It's calm."

This year has been a busy one for Dean Garcia, with the 25-year-anniversary release of deluxe editions of both 'Cuckoo' and 'Doppelganger'. and 10 years since SPC ECO's formation. While Dean still pursues exploratory and unusual musical routes through various other projects, such as S T F U with Preston Maddox, M A D with Monty from Jesus & Mary Chain, and two new remixes for friends' Ummagma, it is through SPC ECO that Garcia is most musically prolific.

Tapete Records is an indie label operationg in Hamburg, Germany since 2002. There they join fellow Shameless Promotion roster-mate The Telescopes, along with Lloyd Cole, The Monochrome Set, Hurricane #1, Martin Carr, and Jaguwar, among many others.

SPC ECO 'Calm' is available digitally via the band's own Bandcamp. The vinyl edition can be ordered via Tapete Records at https://shop.tapeterecords.com/spc-eco-calm.html


1. Out Of Sight 04:11

2. All The Voices 05:03

3. Waking Up Again 06:10

4. Rising Up 04:25

5. All I Had 05:02

6. Pearls 05:52

7. Who Are You Now? 04:34

8. Ghosts 04:17

9. When It Moves 03:41

10. Get Lost 05:04

11. Over 03:58

12. Hours 03:39

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You