John Mellencamp to Release New Album 'Plain Spoken' 9/23

John Mellencampwill release one of the most distinguished records of his career,Plain Spokenon September 23, 2014. This is his22 ndfull-length album and first release forRepublic Records.Plain Spoken includestenstunningly elegant and soul-searching Americana gems from"The Voice of the Heartland", John Mellencamp,while celebratinghis skill not just as a song craftsman but as a world-class entertainer. On its release in September,Plain Spokenwill be available in a10-track edition on CD, vinyl and download. Lead track, "Troubled Man" is available on iTunesAugust 19and impacts radio on September 8.

The finaltrack listingis below.

Plain Spokencommences on the acoustic guitar hum of"Troubled Man"as Mellencampcarries a pensive and poetic chorus. Organ and harmonica punctuate "The Isolation of Mister"with a sense of vibrancy, while"Tears In Vain"features a twanging guitar solo and the singer's unmistakable delivery. The haunting and heartbreakingbeautyof"Blue Charlotte"lingers with emotion. There is"The Courtesy of Kings", which is driven by banjo and Mellencamp's poignant lyrics and the bluesy swing of the album's conclusion"Lawless Times"where his cinematic lyrics bristle with energy matched only by the six-string screech. Plain Spokenis set to be hailedas anunparallelednew chapter in Mellencamp'sdistinctive songbook.

Plain Spokenis the first album fromthe Rock and Roll Hall of Famersince 2010's critically acclaimed,No Better Than Thiswhich landed in the Top 10 of Billboard's Top 200 during release week and garnered the honor of becoming one of Rolling Stone's"Best Albums of 2010". Grammy winning musician John Mellencamp has touched the heart and souls of music listeners and influenced American Culture with enduring songs, heis also one of the most successful live concert performers in the world.A man with a conscience, he used his visibility and influence to advocate an issue that hit close to home and became one of thefounding members of Farm Aid, an organization that began in 1985 to raise awareness about the loss of family farm. The Farm Aidconcerts have raisedover $45 million to promote a resilient family farm system of agriculture.

In 2014, he also signed a historic "lifetime recording contract" with Republic Records for the release of Plain Spoken and all of his albums to follow. Universal Music Enterprises continues to representthe artist's prominent catalog as well. Mercury/UME recently released his latest live albumJohn Mellencamp Sings Trouble No More Live at Town Hall, this past summer.

Plain Spoken,once again, isJOHN MELLENCAMPspeaking right from the heart and to the world.


  1. Troubled Man
  2. Sometimes There's God
  3. The Isolation of Mister
  4. The Company of Cowards
  5. Tears In Vain
  6. The Brass Ring
  7. Freedom Of Speech
  8. Blue Charlotte
  9. The Courtesy of Kings
  10. Lawless Times

A division of Universal Music Group, the world's leading music company, Republic is home to an all-star roster of multi-platinum, award-winning legends and superstar artists such as Amy Winehouse, Ariana Grande, Black Sabbath, Colbie Caillat, Enrique Iglesias, Florence + the Machine, Godsmack, Gotye, James Blake, John Mellencamp, Of Monsters and Men, Owl City, Weezer, among many others.

It is comprised of innovative imprints and digital business ventures including American Recordings (The Avett Brothers), Brushfire (Jack Johnson, G. Love), Cash Money (Lil Wayne, Drake, Nicki Minaj), John Varvatos Records, Lava Records (Jessie J, Lorde), Monkeywrench (Pearl Jam), Casablanca Records (Testo, Martin Garrix), NBC's The Voice (Cassadee Pope, Danielle Bradbery), XO (The Weeknd), among others.In addition, Republicmaintains a long-standing strategic alliance with country powerhouseBig Machine Label Group which iscomprised of Big Machine Records (Rascal Flatts, Taylor Swift, Tim McGraw), Dot Records, andRepublic Nashville (The Band Perry, Florida Georgia Line, The Eli Young Band).

SOURCE Republic Records

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram