Indie-Americana Band Mipso to Perform at AMERICANAFEST This September

Indie-Americana Band Mipso to Perform at AMERICANAFEST This September

In support of their recently released new album, Coming Down The Mountain, Chapel Hill, NC's indie-americana band Mipso are heading to Nashville to perform at the 18th annual AMERICANAFEST on Wednesday, September 13th at the High Watt. Bringing their powerfully rhythmic, lyrically sharp, and beautiful four-part harmonies to AMERICANAFEST, Mipso are joined during that evening of showcases by their upcoming "Campfire Caravan" tour-mates The Brothers Comatose and The Lil Smokies. Mipso will take the stage at 12 midnight on Wednesday.

Mipso's Americana Fest showcase details are as follows:

Wednesday, September 13th @ 11:59 PM
The High Watt
1 Cannery Row, Nashville, TN 37203

This past spring, Mipso released their highly anticipated new album, Coming Down The Mountain, to rave reviews. It quickly shot up the Billboard album charts and debuted in the Top 5 of the Bluegrass Album Charts, with the single "Coming Down the Mountain" charting at #49 on the AMA Americana Radio Chart. The album spent weeks at #1 on The Roots Music Report Top 50 Americana Country Album and Top 50 Country Album Charts. Of the album, No Depression states, "More songs like this and Mipso will corner the market in a new genre. Something like progressive-Americana or Roots-Progressive. What a way to pump life into a once hallowed music form - progressive rock." Available now CD, vinyl and on all digital service providers, listen to Coming Down The Mountain on Spotif

here.

This fall, Mipso join the "Campfire Caravan" tour with The Brothers Comatose and The Lil Smokies for a 30-plus date run throughout North America. "Campfire Caravan" brings Mipso to the western half of the U.S. for the first time since the release of Coming Down The Mountain. Kicking off on September 26th in Billings, MT, "Campfire Caravan" hits cities in the West Coast, the Rocky Mountains, Midwest, East Coast and South before concluding the tour at The Orange Peel in Asheville, NC. With Mipso, The Brother Comatose and The Lil Smokies each quickly rising the Americana music ranks, "Campfire Caravan" is a nod to the musicians' early days playing music, when they'd perform for friends and family in basements, living rooms, and around campfires. "Campfire Caravan" celebrates the American tradition of gathering communities around music. In an untraditional format, all three bands rotate in the lineup with no single ensemble acting as the tour headliner. A completely different show will be presented in each city with spontaneous collaborations amongst the groups taking place between sets. View the full list of "Campfire Caravan" tour dates and purchase tickets at www.campfirecaravan.com.

Coming Down The Mountain is Mipso's fourth album release, and follows up their critically lauded Old Time Reverie (2015). After a year and a half of intense touring following their 2015 release, Mipso returned to their home state to write and record. Huddling in a friend's barn on land usually used for growing garlic and training dogs, they collected their ideas, shared influences, and discussed thoughts on what would eventually become Coming Down The Mountain. The album's ten songs - all originals - finds Mipso exploring the ideas of our changing relationship to the idea of home, and about being pushed or pulled by forces bigger than us. Produced by Brad Cook (Megafaun), and adding pedal steel, drums, banjo, and keyboards to the mix, the music on Coming Down The Mountain is full of wistful beauty, hopeful undercurrents, and panoramic soundscapes that impart intimacy.
Recent Praise for Coming Down The Mountain

"Mipso's distinct Southern sound has remained strong over the years, but the band's evolution and growth is obvious" - Our State

"Though Mipso remains a largely restrained outfit, Coming Down the Mountain's diverse charms are immediately apparent, and Mipso delivers them with verve." - Indy Week

"Mipso rise to the top of the vibrant talent pool in the Carolinas with Coming Down The Mountain, honoring the tenderness of their band's origins as they stay true to acoustics" - The Alternate Root

"For Coming Down the Mountain, Mipso... continue to stay true to themselves while exploring new territory with their songwriting and stretching into new sounds" - No Depression


MIPSO FALL TOUR DATES:
Thursday, August 24 -- Roanoke, VA -- Jefferson Center
Friday, August 25 -- Thomas, WV -- The Purple Fiddle
Saturday, August 26 -- Norfolk, VA -- North Shore Point House Concerts
Sunday, August 27 -- Galax, VA -- Blue Ridge Music Center w/ Old Crow Medicine Show
Friday, September 8 -- Chattanooga, TN -- UTC Fine Arts Center
Saturday, September 9 -- Brevard, NC -- Mountain Song Festival
Friday, September 22 -- Kalamazoo, MI -- Bell's Eccentric Café Oktoberfest
Saturday, September 23 -- Louisville, KY -- Bourbon and Beyond Festival

"CAMPFIRE CARAVAN" WEST
Tuesday, September 26 - Billings, MT - Pub Station
Wednesday, September 27 - Bozeman, MT - Emerson Center for Arts & Culture
Thursday, September 28 - Missoula, MT - Wilma Theater
Friday, September 29 - Portland, OR - McMenamin's Crystal Ballroom
Saturday, September 30 - Seattle, WA - Neumos
Sunday, October 1 - Eugene, OR - Hi-Fi Music Hall
Tuesday, October 3 - Sacramento, CA - Harlow's
Wednesday, October 4 - Paso Robles, CA - Barrelhouse Brewing Co
Thursday, October 5 - Los Angeles, CA - Bootleg Theater
Friday, October 6 - San Francisco, CA - Great American Music Hall
Saturday, October 7 - San Francisco, CA - Great American Music Hall
Tuesday, October 10 - Boise, ID - Neurolux
Wednesday, October 11 - Salt Lake City, UT - The Urban Lounge
Thursday, October 12 - Denver, CO - Ogden Theatre
Friday, October 13 - Colorado Springs, CO - Ivywild School
Saturday, October 14 - Ft. Collins, CO - Aggie Theater

"CAMPFIRE CARAVAN" EAST
Thursday, November 2 - Minneapolis, MN - Cedar Cultural Center
Friday, November 3 - Madison, WI - High Noon Saloon
Saturday, November 4 - Chicago, IL - Lincoln Hall
Sunday, November 5 - Detroit, MI - Otus Supply
Tuesday, November 7 - Pittsburgh, PA - James Street Ballroom
Thursday, November 9 - Boston, MA - The Sinclair
Friday, November 10 - New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom
Saturday, November 11 - Ardmore, PA - Ardmore Music Hall
Sunday, November 12 - Washington, DC - 9:30 Club
Tuesday, November 14 - Charlotte, NC - Neighborhood Theatre
Wednesday, November 15 - Nashville, TN - The Mercury Lounge
Thursday, November 16 - Atlanta, GA - Terminal West
Friday, November 17 - Raleigh, NC - Lincoln Theatre
Saturday, November 18 - Asheville, NC - The Orange Peel

*Additional Mipso tour dates to be announced soon.

Related Articles View More Music Stories





More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram
   



  SHARE