Home Video Premieres New Album on PopMatters, Releases 6/24

Home Video Premieres New Album on PopMatters, Releases 6/24

New York-based duo HOME VIDEO premiered their new album Here In Weightless Fall on PopMatters today. Here In Weightless Fall is out next Tuesday, June 24th on Dash Go. The follow-up to 2010's The Automatic Process, the new album finds the band exploring new sounds and demonstrating a well-honed maturity in their songwriting.


PopMatters writer Brice Ezell notes, "in spite of all of the reference points a listener may be able to pick out when listening to Here in Weightless Fall, Home Video have made a record that's entirely aware of its influences and transcends them through its own unique songcraft." Ezell continues to dig into the songwriting background on Here In Weightless Fall, discussing the band's process, where they also touch upon Brooklyn as a cultural center and how to differentiate in such a saturated artistic area.

Here In Weightless Fall

1. Symptoms of a Fall
2. Forget
3. Meant To Be
4. Release
5. Ghostly
6. Until The Ground
7. The Disappeared
8. Calm Down
9. Beacon
10. Nembutol Smiles
11. Advice

Over the past years, David Gross and Collin Ruffino, the band members that comprise Home Video, have expanded their musical community to include other touring opportunities and side projects, with Gross joining Penguin Prison and MNDR on stage and in studio sessions for their upcoming albums, while Ruffino launched NiveHive, a political, electronic concept album about WikiLeaks and an Edward Snowden-inspired single, while also scoring for film and TV.

"There was a lot of tumult and excitement in the world and my own life when the album was written," notes Ruffino. "The Occupy movement was raging in NYC, and there was a hope in the air that carried me through the darkness of a major breakup. I think you can feel that push and pull between despair and resilience in the album."

For the album, Home Video brought in two drummers and a mixing engineer to help fill out the arrangements and take their sound into new dimensions. Jim Orso and Chris Berry performed the beats live, giving Here In Weightless Fall an organic bite to the album's driving rhythms, blending with the electronics to create the foundation for the album's sound. Michael Patterson (Beck, Nine Inch Nails, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club) was at the engineer's helm.

"For the first time, we worked with a mixing engineer who took our demos to whole different level sonically - one I didn't even think was possible," writes Gross. "What was most striking for me is that Patterson's mixes sounded the way I thought our demos sounded, without any input from us! Obviously the demos weren't even close, but I didn't even know it until I heard them fully realized."

About Home Video:
Originally discovered by Warp Records, the label released Home Video's first two EPs in 2004, drawing considerable attention from BBC Radio 1, NME, and Rolling Stone. In 2006, New York-based Defend Music released debut full-length, No Certain Night Or Morning. Home Video have also remixed songs for bands like Bear in Heaven, Wave Machines, Faunts, Bang Gang, and Naked Hearts. 2010 brought their second album, The Automatic Process, which earned praise from veteran KCRW Music Director Jason Bentley, who wrote that the album keeps the promise of the its striking, hypnotic packaging, "with its layered intensity and ethereal vocals, at times making strides into territory charted by the likes of Radiohead and Massive Attack without losing their own identity along the way."