Austin-Based Musician Jonathon Zemek Announces Multimedia Project HILLCREST 9/21 Release

By: May. 09, 2018

Austin-Based Musician Jonathon Zemek Announces Multimedia Project HILLCREST 9/21 Release

Co-founder of Austin-based band Soul Track Mind Jonathon Zemek announces a multimedia project depicting a fictional coming of age story entitled "Hillcrest." The project includes an album featuring Guy Forsyth, Malford Milligan, Matt Smith, Andrea Lindzeyand Roderick Sanford who all portray the vocal characters in the story of "Hillcrest," giving voices to the art of an accompanying comic book illustrated by local street artist Chris Rogers. Both the album and the comic book are set to release Sept. 21, 2018 with an official release show that evening. Details for the show are to be announced. For more information, please see here.

"Hillcrest weaves in many ideas about the role we all play as a society to take care of one another and draw upon love and forgiveness when the things we held as sacred are taken away," said Jonathon Zemek. "With music and art there is no greater way to tell a story and really make the audience feel it. When working on this project we wanted to create an immersive experience that truly captures the magical ability that only art has to move us."

Zemek began working on "Hillcrest" in 2016 at the conclusion of his band, Soul Track Mind. Zemek sought to fuse music and art into a larger project of different mediums, deciding to tell a fictional coming of age story about a boy named Peter through an album and illustrating that story in comic book form. Crafting the plot of "Hillcrest" took over a year, with Zemek and producer Matt Smith working together to intertwine the music and narrative in an impactful way. Zemek wrote all the songs for "Hillcrest" and subsequently teamed up with Smith for the recording process at Lost Oasis Studio in Austin. Zemek called upon local renowned musicians to help give voices to the characters of the story, the townspeople of "Hillcrest," that play large parts in Peter's story.

Guy Forsyth, Malford Milligan, Matt Smith, Andrea Lindzey and Roderick Sanford joined Zemek in the studio to lend their voices to members of the town in "Hillcrest." In addition to the featured vocalists, Austin musicians Alex Felan, David Webb, Doug Leveton, Ben George, Zach Buie, Jon Merz and Brian Austin appear on the record, providing instrumentals to the songs.

Zemek also teamed up with Chris Rogers, a muralist named the "Best Street Artist" in Austin in 2015 by the Austin Chronicle, to create the artwork for the story of "Hillcrest." Rogers' vivacious, unique style caught Zemek's attention, and the passion Rogers put into the "Hillcrest" project shows how perfectly music and art work together to be a vehicle of storytelling. Rogers applied his signature style to comic book form, bringing alive the characters of the story in his and Zemek's artistic vision.

"When thinking about the visual aspect of Hillcrest, we wanted to bring in a non-traditional artist to bring a new and unique perspective on what the comic book can be," said Zemek. "Chris achieved this and more."

"Hillcrest" was recorded at Lost Oasis Studio in Austin and mastered at Terra Nova Studios, also in Austin. The album and comic book will be available for pre-orders soon, with a multimedia release show in September. To learn more about "Hillcrest," please see here.


Born and raised in Binghamton, New York, Jonathon picked up the guitar at 12 years old. Under the tutelage of local Binghamton guitar legend Roy Ettinger, Jonathon began learning the craft. In 2006, Zemek moved to Austin to pursue music and soon after became the co-founder of soul-funk band Soul Track Mind. In the band, Zemek experienced years of successes which included playing Wakarusa Festival, playing multiple SXSW Showcases, winning the Louisiana Music Prize in 2014, performing at the 2015 Texas Governor's Inaugural Ball and sharing bills with David Crosby, Enrique Iglesias, Tower of Power, Pat Green and Lady Antebellum. Soul Track Mind was also featured on the cover of Texas Music Magazine and written about in many publications including The New York Times, The Huffington Post, the Austin Chronicle and others.

Since 2016, when Soul Track Mind concluded, Jonathon has been busy with a host of new music and the multimedia project "Hillcrest." In addition to writing songs and performing, Jonathon spends time working with and helping out musicians through his company Zeda Royal. Zemek also works with All The Stars, an opiate and substance abuse organization. Jonathon is a voting member of the Recording Academy and is an active participant in their yearly music advocacy efforts. He currently resides in Austin, Texas.


KISS Becomes First U.S. Band To Go Fully Virtual and Stage Avatar Show Photo
KISS Becomes First U.S. Band To Go Fully Virtual and Stage Avatar Show

KISS, the legendary rock band known for electrifying live performances over a 50 year career and sales of more than 100 million records worldwide, is marking the end of its physical existence by crossing into the digital world. 

Video: Parisian Psych-Rock Band HOWLIN JAWS Releases New Video Single, Bewitched Me Photo
Video: Parisian Psych-Rock Band HOWLIN' JAWS Releases New Video Single, 'Bewitched Me'

Watch the new video single, 'Bewitched Me,' from Parisian psych-rock band HOWLIN' JAWS!

Bananarama Reveal New Reworks Of Robert De Niros Waiting… and Velvet Lies Photo
Bananarama Reveal New Reworks Of 'Robert De Niro's Waiting…' and 'Velvet Lies'

Bananarama revisits two tracks with new remixes by The Reflex and Luke Million for their upcoming collection, Glorious - The Ultimate Collection. The Reflex adds a French touch to 'Robert De Niro's Waiting...' while Luke Million transforms 'Velvet Lies' into a combination of vocodered vocals, Italo Disco, and Electronic Funk. Listen to the remixes and check out the visualizer for 'Robert De Niro's Waiting...' here!

Sarantos Releases Festive Christmas Single The Time (For Miracles) Photo
Sarantos Releases Festive Christmas Single 'The Time (For Miracles)'

Chicago native Sarantos is spreading some holiday cheer with the release of his new single 'The Time (For Miracles). The song is part of his album, 'Somethin' to Believe In,' which was released the same day. The album features 3 Top 10 UK iTunes hit singles, and 2 additional Top 40s. Tracks featured on the collection have been streamed more than 300K times.

More Hot Stories For You