Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Stage Directors And Choreographers Foundation Now Accepting Nominations For The 2021 Zelda Fichandler Award


Nominations accepted now through August 1, 2021 for $5,000 unrestricted award.

Stage Directors And Choreographers Foundation Now Accepting Nominations For The 2021 Zelda Fichandler Award

Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation, the not-for-profit foundation of Stage Directors and Choreographers Society, announced today that nominations for the Zelda Fichandler Award are now being accepted through August 1, 2021.

Named for a giant of the regional theatre movement, the Zelda Fichandler Award recognizes directors and choreographers who are in the heart of their creative lives; who have demonstrated great accomplishment to date and show continued promise for the future; and who have made prominent achievements in the field with singular creativity, artistry, and deep investment in a specific community. The goal of the Fichandler Award is to recognize and further encourage those artists who have made a commitment to creating regional theatre. The Award is not to honor lifetime achievement.

Established in 2009, the Zelda Fichandler Award is SDCF's first award devoted to regional theatre in the United States. With this award, SDCF pays tribute to the profound impact the founders of regional theatre had on our field, honoring their legacies by recognizing extraordinary individuals who are transforming the national arts landscape with their unique, creative, and necessary work. The Fichandler Award is given to an SDC Member in an annually rotating region in the United States. In 2021, it will be given to a director or choreographer in the Western region, comprised of Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming

Nominations will be accepted through 11:59 PM EST on Sunday, August 1, 2021. Nominators need not be SDC Members or SDC Associate Members, but nominees must be SDC Members or SDC Associate Members, in good standing, who are not previous recipients of the Award. Late nominations and self-nominations will not be accepted. A short nomination form and detailed guidelines are available on the SDCF website. The award will be presented at an awards ceremony in Fall 2021.

The Fichandler Award recipient receives an unrestricted award of $5,000 from SDCF. Past Zelda Fichandler Award recipients include Jonathan Moscone, then of California Shakespeare Theater in Orinda, CA (2009); Michael Halberstam of Writers Theatre in Glencoe, IL (2010); Blanka Zizka, of The Wilma Theater in Philadelphia, PA (2011); Bill Rauch, then of Oregon Shakespeare Festival in Ashland, OR (2012); Charles Newell of Court Theatre in Chicago, IL (2013); Joseph Haj, then of PlayMakers Repertory Company in Chapel Hill, NC (2014); Tim Dang, then of East West Players in Los Angeles, CA (2015); Lisa Portes of Chicago, IL (2016); Vivienne Benesch of PlayMakers Repertory Company in Chapel Hill, NC (2017); Loretta Greco, then of Magic Theatre in San Francisco, CA (2018); Marcela Lorca of Ten Thousand Things Theater in St. Paul, MN (2019); and Kamilah Forbes of the Apollo Theater in New York, NY (2020).

Related Articles View More Dance Stories

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You