Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

VIDEO: MEAN GIRLS Star Kyle Selig Goes Pop with Rodgers & Hammerstein's 'The Sweetest Sounds'

The Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization announced today the release of the fifth music video in their YouTube Series, "R&H Goes Pop!" The video features Kyle Selig (Mean Girls, The Book of Mormon), putting a modern twist on "The Sweetest Sounds" from the 1962 Richard Rodgers musical, No Strings, featuring music direction and arrangements by Jacob Fjeldheim.

"What led me to choose this song, initially, was all lyric-based. It's all these large sweeping ideas about imagination," said Kyle Selig. "The guitar playing became an extension of that. I've never actually played in front of people before. For me, this song is sort of a promise: I'm going to pursue what makes me happy, things that I enjoy doing, even if they're outside my comfort zone, and I hope that idea might make someone who hears this song feel like they can try something new."

Kyle Selig currently stars as Aaron Samuels in the Tony-nominated musical Mean Girls on Broadway and was recently seen as Elder Price in The Book of Mormon. Selig was the winner of the Jimmy Award for High School Musical Theater in 2010 and also earned the LA Music Center Spotlight Award. His original albums (She Breathes, And the Tree Was Happy) are available on iTunes and Spotify and is a proud Carnegie Mellon University Graduate, earning a BFA in musical theatre in 2014.

The YouTube series launched in January of 2019 with the premiere of a music video featuring Jeremy Jordan (Newsies) singing "Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin'" with arrangements created by Jordan and Benjamin Rauhala. The series continued with a video from Laura Osnes and Jeremy Jordan performing "The Next Ten Minutes Ago" - a mashup of "Ten Minutes Ago" from Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella and "The Next Ten Minutes" from Jason Robert Brown's The Last Five Years with arrangements by Benjamin Rauhala and Kurt Crowley. February's video featured Matt Doyle and Jelani Aladdin, performing a stirring duet of "We Kiss In A Shadow" from the classic musical, Rodgers & Hammerstein's The King and I, featuring music direction and arrangements by Will Van Dyke. Last month's video featured Derek Klena's stirring rendition of "Younger Than Springtime" from Rodgers & Hammerstein's South Pacific, featuring arrangements by Benjamin Rauhala.

Related Stories
Photos: Bobby Cannavale Pays A Visit To THE LION KING On Broadway Photo
Acclaimed actor Bobby Cannavale attended The Lion King on Broadway Wednesday, March 29, 2023. See a photo from his visit as he checks in with stars L. Steven Taylor (Mufasa) and Tshidi Manye (Rafiki).

Nikki M. James, John-Andrew Morrison & More to Join MAC Awards Photo
Presenters and performers have been revealed for the 37th Annual MAC Awards! See who is taking part, and learn how to purchase tickets!

Actors Equity Ramps Up Social Media Campaign For #UniteTheRoad Photo
Actors' Equity has taken to social media along with its membership to pressure The Broadway League to renegotiate agreements relating to the compensation of actors and stage managers on touring contracts.

Photos: Olivia Holt Meets the Press Ahead of Debut in CHICAGO Photo
See photos of Olivia Holt meeting the press ahead of her Broadway debut in Chicago!

More Hot Stories For You

VIDEO: First Look At San Diego Opera's TOSCAVIDEO: First Look At San Diego Opera's TOSCA
March 29, 2023

Get a first look at San Diego Opera's production of Tosca! Tosca is Giacomo Puccini’s gripping drama filled with torture, treachery, lust, execution and suicide.

VIDEO: MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS at The Repertory Theatre of St. Louis on SHowMe St. LouisVIDEO: MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS at The Repertory Theatre of St. Louis on SHowMe St. Louis
March 29, 2023

Watch cast members Janie Brookshire and Joel Moses recently chatted with KSDK to talk about MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS at The Repertory Theatre of St. Louis.

VIDEO: Susan Graham On How She Got Her StartVIDEO: Susan Graham On How She Got Her Start
March 29, 2023

Legendary mezzo-soprano and LAO Young Artist Artist Director Susan Graham is back on the DCP stage in her role debut as Geneviève in 'Pelléas and Mélisande.' We sat down with her to ask about her inspiring start in opera, her role as a mentor, and the advice she has for the up-and-coming generation of singers.

VIDEO: First Look At SUMMER: THE DONNA SUMMER MUSICAL at Lawrenceville Arts CenterVIDEO: First Look At SUMMER: THE DONNA SUMMER MUSICAL at Lawrenceville Arts Center
March 27, 2023

The Queen of Disco and her crew have taken to the stage and are wowing audiences from all over. Check out this highlight reel of what you can expect from this high energy spectacle. But remember, seeing is believing, grab your tickets and see SUMMER: The Donna Summer Musical LIVE and in person!

VIDEO: New TV Spot for Terence Blanchard's CHAMPION at the Metropolitan Opera in AprilVIDEO: New TV Spot for Terence Blanchard's CHAMPION at the Metropolitan Opera in April
March 27, 2023

Terence Blanchard's opera Champion, based on the true story of the troubled former middleweight boxing champion Emile Griffith, will have its highly anticipated Metropolitan Opera premiere on April 10, with nine performances running through May 13.