Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Theatre Hall of Fame 2008 Inductees: Fierstein, Cullum, O'Brien, Shaffer

Theater Hall of Fame 2008 inductees have been announced as follows:

Actor and playwright Harvey Fierstein Upcoming A Catered Affair, 2003 Tony Award for Best Actor in a Musical as Edna in Hairspray, 1984 Tony Award-winning book-writer of La Cage aux Folles, and 1983 Tony Award for Best Actor and Best Play (writer) of Torch Song Trilogy.

Actor John Cullum Recently appeared on Broadway in Cymbeline (Lincoln Center), 110 in the Shade (Roundabout Theatre Company). Original casts of Dr. Seuss' How The Grinch Stole Christmas, Urinetown, Camelot, Aspects of Love. Tony Award-winning Best Actor in a Musical in Shenandoah (1975) and On the Twentieth Century (1978).

Actor Lois SmithTony Award-nominated Featured Actress in a Play Buried Child (1996) and The Grapes of Wrath (1990). Drama Desk Award winner for Outstanding Actress in a Play, 2006 The Trip to Bountiful.  Broadway plays include: Time Out For Ginger (1952), The Young and Beautiful (1955), Edwin Booth (1958), The Iceman Cometh (1973 revival).

Actor Dana Ivey Recently appeared in Butley (Tony Award nomination). Drama Desk Award-winner Sex and Longing and The Last Night of Ballyhoo. Multiple Tony-Award nominations include performances in Heartbreak House (1984), Sunday in the Park with George (1984), The Rivals (2005, revival).

Director Jack O'Brien Recently The Coast of Utopia (Tony Award-winner, Best Play and Best Director), Dr. Seuss' How The Grinch Stole Christmas. Multiple Tony Award and Drama Desk Award credits, including Best Direction of a Play Henry IV (2004, winner), The Invention of Love (2001, nominee), The Piano Lesson (1990, nominee), Best Direction of a Musical Hairspray (2003, winner), Dirty Rotten Scoundrels (2005, nominee), The Full Monty (2001, nominee), Porgy & Bess (1977, nominee).

Playwright Peter Shaffer – Tony Award-winning playwright of Amadeus (1981) and Equus (1975). Other Broadway writing credits include Lettice and Lovage (2000 Tony Award-nominee), Black Comedy/White Lies (1967 Tony Award-nominee), Five Finger Exercise (1959), The Royal Hunt of the Sun (1965).

Librettist Joseph Stein –  Recently honored by York Theatre Company, Tony Award-winning book writer of Fiddler on the Roof. Tony nominated librettos include Take Me Along (1960), Zorba (1969), Rags (1987). Multiple Broadway credits include books for Plain and Fancy, The Body Beautiful, Juno, Enter Laughing and Jerome Robbins' Broadway.

Mel Gussow – Critic for The New York Times, posthumously

The ceremony takes place Monday, January 28 2008 at the Gershwin Theatre. Tommy Tune will emcee the event, and directors Hal Prince and Mike Nichols will be among the presenters.

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You