Suzanne Bertish & Paxton Whitehead to Receive AEA's 2014 Joe A. Callaway Award

Suzanne Bertish and Paxton Whitehead have been selected to receive the 2014 Joe A. Callaway Award presented by the Actors' Equity Foundation. The award, honoring the best performance in a professional production of a classic play (one written prior to 1920) in the New York metropolitan area, will be presented at Equity's Eastern Regional Membership Meeting at 2 pm on Friday, January 9, 2015 at the Equity offices, 165 West 46th Street, New York. The announcement was made by Arne Gundersen, President of the Foundation and Joan Glazer, Managing Director.

Both performers were recognized for their performances in The Heir Apparent by David Ives, adapted from the 18th century play by Jean-Francois Regnard, presented by the Classic Stage Company.

In addition, Bertish was cited for her performance in the Roundabout Theatre production of Machinal. She has worked extensively in London and with the Royal Shakespeare Company, where she received an Olivier Award for her performance in Nicolas Nickleby. Her work in America includes The Moliere Comedies, for which she received a Tony nomination; The Art of Success; Wit; Skirmishes, which brought her a Theatre World Award; and Richard III at The Public Theater, among many other plays.

Paxton Whitehead has appeared on Broadway in, among other plays, The Importance of Being Earnest; Absurd Person Singular;Lettice and Lovage; Noises Off, for which he received a Drama Desk Award; Camelot, where he received a Tony nomination; The Crucifer of Blood; A Little Hotel on the Side; and Artist Descending a Staircase. He played Colonel Pickering and later Henry Higgins in the Broadway revival of My Fair Lady, garnering a Helen Hayes Award for his performance.

Established by Equity member Joe A. Callaway in 1989, the award includes a $1,000 check plus a commemorative engraved plaque for each recipient.

The Judges Panel included: Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out New York; Susan Haskins, Theater Talk; and Harry Haun, Playbill.

Previous recipients of the Callaway include Laura Ambrose, Kate Burton, Byron Jennings, Frank Langella, Laura Linney, Lily Rabe, Liev Schreiber and, in 2013, Jonathan Cake and J. Smith Cameron.

The Actors' Equity Foundation, a philanthropic and humanitarian non-profit organization, was created in 1962 to aid and assist the members of the acting profession and to promote the theatre arts. It is separate from Actors' Equity Association and is funded by estate bequests and individual donations.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram