Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Russell Beale, Scott Thomas, Leigh and More Receive Evening Standard Nods

Simon Russell Beale, soon to be seen in Spamalot, as well as Derek Jacobi, Kristin Scott Thomas, Mike Leigh, and others have been nominated for Evening Standard Awards.

The Awards, which are now in their 51st year, honor theatrical achievement in London. The winners will be announced on November 28th at the Savoy Hotel. Of the shows, Death of a Salesman, Don Carlos, Hedda Gabler, As You Desire Me, and Mary Poppins received more than one nomination.

The list of nominees follows:

Best Play

Two Thousand Years by Mike Leigh
Bloody Sunday by Richard Norton-Taylor
Harvest by Richard Bean
The Home Place by Brian Friel

Best Actor
Brian Dennehy for Death of a Salesman
Derek Jacobi for Don Carlos
Simon Russell Beale for The Philanthropist

Best Actress
Eve Best for Hedda Gabler
Clare Higgins for Death of a Salesman
Kristin Scott Thomas for As You Desire Me
Harriet Walter for Mary Stuart

Best Director
Richard Eyre for Hedda Gabler and Mary Poppins
Michael Grandage for Don Carlos and Grand Hotel
Jonathan Kent for As You Desire Me

Best Designer
Paul Brown for As You Desire Me
Bob Crowley for Mary Poppins
Christopher Oram and Paule Constable for Don Carlos

Best Musical
The Big Life
Billy Elliot
Mary Poppins

Outstanding Newcomer
Daniel Kramer, director, for Hair and Woyzeck at the Gate
Menier Chocolate Factor, co-directors David Babani and Danielle Tarento
Ben Silverstone, actor, for Man and Boy

Charles Wintour Award for New Playwriting
Ryan Craig for What We Did to Weinstein
Nell Leyshon for Comfort Me with Apples
Simon Mendes da Costa for Losing Louis

Related Articles

Buy at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

More Hot Stories For You